lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jul]   [15]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH AUTOSEL 5.2 209/249] bpf: fix uapi bpf_prog_info fields alignment
Date
From: Baruch Siach <baruch@tkos.co.il>

[ Upstream commit 0472301a28f6cf53a6bc5783e48a2d0bbff4682f ]

Merge commit 1c8c5a9d38f60 ("Merge
git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/davem/net-next") undid the
fix from commit 36f9814a494 ("bpf: fix uapi hole for 32 bit compat
applications") by taking the gpl_compatible 1-bit field definition from
commit b85fab0e67b162 ("bpf: Add gpl_compatible flag to struct
bpf_prog_info") as is. That breaks architectures with 16-bit alignment
like m68k. Add 31-bit pad after gpl_compatible to restore alignment of
following fields.

Thanks to Dmitry V. Levin his analysis of this bug history.

Signed-off-by: Baruch Siach <baruch@tkos.co.il>
Acked-by: Song Liu <songliubraving@fb.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Cc: Daniel Borkmann <daniel@iogearbox.net>
Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Daniel Borkmann <daniel@iogearbox.net>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
include/uapi/linux/bpf.h | 1 +
tools/include/uapi/linux/bpf.h | 1 +
2 files changed, 2 insertions(+)

diff --git a/include/uapi/linux/bpf.h b/include/uapi/linux/bpf.h
index a8b823c30b43..29a5bc3d5c66 100644
--- a/include/uapi/linux/bpf.h
+++ b/include/uapi/linux/bpf.h
@@ -3143,6 +3143,7 @@ struct bpf_prog_info {
char name[BPF_OBJ_NAME_LEN];
__u32 ifindex;
__u32 gpl_compatible:1;
+ __u32 :31; /* alignment pad */
__u64 netns_dev;
__u64 netns_ino;
__u32 nr_jited_ksyms;
diff --git a/tools/include/uapi/linux/bpf.h b/tools/include/uapi/linux/bpf.h
index a8b823c30b43..29a5bc3d5c66 100644
--- a/tools/include/uapi/linux/bpf.h
+++ b/tools/include/uapi/linux/bpf.h
@@ -3143,6 +3143,7 @@ struct bpf_prog_info {
char name[BPF_OBJ_NAME_LEN];
__u32 ifindex;
__u32 gpl_compatible:1;
+ __u32 :31; /* alignment pad */
__u64 netns_dev;
__u64 netns_ino;
__u32 nr_jited_ksyms;
--
2.20.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-07-15 16:15    [W:0.717 / U:23.420 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site