lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jul]   [15]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH AUTOSEL 5.2 239/249] perf tests: Fix record+probe_libc_inet_pton.sh for powerpc64
Date
From: Seeteena Thoufeek <s1seetee@linux.vnet.ibm.com>

[ Upstream commit bff5a556c149804de29347a88a884d25e4e4e3a2 ]

'probe libc's inet_pton & backtrace it with ping' testcase sometimes
fails on powerpc because distro ping binary does not have symbol
information and thus it prints "[unknown]" function name in the
backtrace.

Accept "[unknown]" as valid function name for powerpc as well.

# perf test -v "probe libc's inet_pton & backtrace it with ping"

Before:

59: probe libc's inet_pton & backtrace it with ping :
--- start ---
test child forked, pid 79695
ping 79718 [077] 96483.787025: probe_libc:inet_pton: (7fff83a754c8)
7fff83a754c8 __GI___inet_pton+0x8 (/usr/lib64/power9/libc-2.28.so)
7fff83a2b7a0 gaih_inet.constprop.7+0x1020
(/usr/lib64/power9/libc-2.28.so)
7fff83a2c170 getaddrinfo+0x160 (/usr/lib64/power9/libc-2.28.so)
1171830f4 [unknown] (/usr/bin/ping)
FAIL: expected backtrace entry
".*\+0x[[:xdigit:]]+[[:space:]]\(.*/bin/ping.*\)$"
got "1171830f4 [unknown] (/usr/bin/ping)"
test child finished with -1
---- end ----
probe libc's inet_pton & backtrace it with ping: FAILED!

After:

59: probe libc's inet_pton & backtrace it with ping :
--- start ---
test child forked, pid 79085
ping 79108 [045] 96400.214177: probe_libc:inet_pton: (7fffbb9654c8)
7fffbb9654c8 __GI___inet_pton+0x8 (/usr/lib64/power9/libc-2.28.so)
7fffbb91b7a0 gaih_inet.constprop.7+0x1020
(/usr/lib64/power9/libc-2.28.so)
7fffbb91c170 getaddrinfo+0x160 (/usr/lib64/power9/libc-2.28.so)
132e830f4 [unknown] (/usr/bin/ping)
test child finished with 0
---- end ----
probe libc's inet_pton & backtrace it with ping: Ok

Signed-off-by: Seeteena Thoufeek <s1seetee@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Reviewed-by: Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@amd.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Hendrik Brueckner <brueckner@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Michael Petlan <mpetlan@redhat.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Sandipan Das <sandipan@linux.ibm.com>
Fixes: 1632936480a5 ("perf tests: Fix record+probe_libc_inet_pton.sh without ping's debuginfo")
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1561630614-3216-1-git-send-email-s1seetee@linux.vnet.ibm.com
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
tools/perf/tests/shell/record+probe_libc_inet_pton.sh | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/tests/shell/record+probe_libc_inet_pton.sh b/tools/perf/tests/shell/record+probe_libc_inet_pton.sh
index 61c9f8fc6fa1..58a99a292930 100755
--- a/tools/perf/tests/shell/record+probe_libc_inet_pton.sh
+++ b/tools/perf/tests/shell/record+probe_libc_inet_pton.sh
@@ -44,7 +44,7 @@ trace_libc_inet_pton_backtrace() {
eventattr='max-stack=4'
echo "gaih_inet.*\+0x[[:xdigit:]]+[[:space:]]\($libc\)$" >> $expected
echo "getaddrinfo\+0x[[:xdigit:]]+[[:space:]]\($libc\)$" >> $expected
- echo ".*\+0x[[:xdigit:]]+[[:space:]]\(.*/bin/ping.*\)$" >> $expected
+ echo ".*(\+0x[[:xdigit:]]+|\[unknown\])[[:space:]]\(.*/bin/ping.*\)$" >> $expected
;;
*)
eventattr='max-stack=3'
--
2.20.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-07-15 16:15    [W:0.572 / U:6.508 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site