lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jun]   [20]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH v10 08/13] mm/sparsemem: Prepare for sub-section ranges
From
Date
On 20.06.19 18:19, Dan Williams wrote:
> On Thu, Jun 20, 2019 at 3:31 AM David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com> wrote:
>>
>> On 19.06.19 07:52, Dan Williams wrote:
>>> Prepare the memory hot-{add,remove} paths for handling sub-section
>>> ranges by plumbing the starting page frame and number of pages being
>>> handled through arch_{add,remove}_memory() to
>>> sparse_{add,remove}_one_section().
>>>
>>> This is simply plumbing, small cleanups, and some identifier renames. No
>>> intended functional changes.
>>>
>>> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
>>> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
>>> Cc: Logan Gunthorpe <logang@deltatee.com>
>>> Cc: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>
>>> Reviewed-by: Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@soleen.com>
>>> Signed-off-by: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
>>> ---
>>> include/linux/memory_hotplug.h | 5 +-
>>> mm/memory_hotplug.c | 114 +++++++++++++++++++++++++---------------
>>> mm/sparse.c | 16 ++----
>>> 3 files changed, 81 insertions(+), 54 deletions(-)
> [..]
>>> @@ -528,31 +556,31 @@ static void __remove_section(struct zone *zone, struct mem_section *ms,
>>> * sure that pages are marked reserved and zones are adjust properly by
>>> * calling offline_pages().
>>> */
>>> -void __remove_pages(struct zone *zone, unsigned long phys_start_pfn,
>>> +void __remove_pages(struct zone *zone, unsigned long pfn,
>>> unsigned long nr_pages, struct vmem_altmap *altmap)
>>> {
>>> - unsigned long i;
>>> unsigned long map_offset = 0;
>>> - int sections_to_remove;
>>> + int i, start_sec, end_sec;
>>
>> As mentioned in v9, use "unsigned long" for start_sec and end_sec please.
>
> Honestly I saw you and Andrew going back and forth about "unsigned
> long i" that I thought this would be handled by a follow on patchset
> when that debate settled.
>

I'll send a fixup then, once this patch set is final - hoping I won't
forget about it (that's why I asked about using these types in the first
place).

--

Thanks,

David / dhildenb

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-06-20 18:37    [W:0.057 / U:6.620 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site