lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jun]   [11]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 04/85] perf data: Document directory format header: HEADER_DIR_FORMAT
Date
From: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>

We forgot to update the perf.data file format document for the
HEADER_DIR_FORMAT header, do it now from comments in the patch
introducing it.

Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Alexey Budankov <alexey.budankov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Chong Jiang <chongjiang@chromium.org>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Simon Que <sque@chromium.org>
Fixes: 258031c017c3 ("perf header: Add DIR_FORMAT feature to describe directory data")
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-jbrzb7ijb5al33gi8br6f9rr@git.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
---
.../Documentation/perf.data-file-format.txt | 17 +++++++++++++++++
1 file changed, 17 insertions(+)

diff --git a/tools/perf/Documentation/perf.data-file-format.txt b/tools/perf/Documentation/perf.data-file-format.txt
index 600999f89c6d..6375e6fb8bac 100644
--- a/tools/perf/Documentation/perf.data-file-format.txt
+++ b/tools/perf/Documentation/perf.data-file-format.txt
@@ -302,6 +302,23 @@ One uint64_t for the clockid frequency, specified, for instance, via 'perf
record -k' (see clock_gettime()), to enable timestamps derived metrics
conversion into wall clock time on the reporting stage.

+ HEADER_DIR_FORMAT = 24,
+
+The data files layout is described by HEADER_DIR_FORMAT feature. Currently it
+holds only version number (1):
+
+ uint64_t version;
+
+The current version holds only version value (1) means that data files:
+
+- Follow the 'data.*' name format.
+
+- Contain raw events data in standard perf format as read from kernel (and need
+ to be sorted)
+
+Future versions are expected to describe different data files layout according
+to special needs.
+
HEADER_BPF_PROG_INFO = 25,

struct bpf_prog_info_linear, which contains detailed information about
--
2.20.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-06-11 21:07    [W:0.234 / U:2.664 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site