lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jun]   [11]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 03/85] perf data: Document clockid header: HEADER_CLOCKID
Date
From: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>

We forgot to update the perf.data file format document for the
HEADER_CLOCKID header, do it now from comments in the patch introducing
it.

Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Alexey Budankov <alexey.budankov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Chong Jiang <chongjiang@chromium.org>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Simon Que <sque@chromium.org>
Fixes: cf7905165fee ("perf record: Encode -k clockid frequency into Perf trace")
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-slhnjp06027j3ae17qqetzxj@git.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
---
tools/perf/Documentation/perf.data-file-format.txt | 6 ++++++
1 file changed, 6 insertions(+)

diff --git a/tools/perf/Documentation/perf.data-file-format.txt b/tools/perf/Documentation/perf.data-file-format.txt
index 99733751695b..600999f89c6d 100644
--- a/tools/perf/Documentation/perf.data-file-format.txt
+++ b/tools/perf/Documentation/perf.data-file-format.txt
@@ -296,6 +296,12 @@ $ perf report --header-only -I
# memory nodes (nr 1, block size 0x8000000):
# 0 [7G]: 0-23,32-69

+ HEADER_CLOCKID = 23,
+
+One uint64_t for the clockid frequency, specified, for instance, via 'perf
+record -k' (see clock_gettime()), to enable timestamps derived metrics
+conversion into wall clock time on the reporting stage.
+
HEADER_BPF_PROG_INFO = 25,

struct bpf_prog_info_linear, which contains detailed information about
--
2.20.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-06-11 21:07    [W:0.238 / U:4.044 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site