lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [May]   [30]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
    Patch in this message
    /
    From
    Subject[PATCH 4.19 137/276] sched/rt: Check integer overflow at usec to nsec conversion
    Date
    [ Upstream commit 1a010e29cfa00fee2888fd2fd4983f848cbafb58 ]

    Example of unhandled overflows:

    # echo 18446744073709651 > cpu.rt_runtime_us
    # cat cpu.rt_runtime_us
    99

    # echo 18446744073709900 > cpu.rt_period_us
    # cat cpu.rt_period_us
    348

    After this patch they will fail with -EINVAL.

    Signed-off-by: Konstantin Khlebnikov <khlebnikov@yandex-team.ru>
    Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
    Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
    Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
    Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/155125501739.293431.5252197504404771496.stgit@buzz
    Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
    Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
    ---
    kernel/sched/rt.c | 5 +++++
    1 file changed, 5 insertions(+)

    diff --git a/kernel/sched/rt.c b/kernel/sched/rt.c
    index 2e2955a8cf8fe..b980cc96604fa 100644
    --- a/kernel/sched/rt.c
    +++ b/kernel/sched/rt.c
    @@ -2559,6 +2559,8 @@ int sched_group_set_rt_runtime(struct task_group *tg, long rt_runtime_us)
    rt_runtime = (u64)rt_runtime_us * NSEC_PER_USEC;
    if (rt_runtime_us < 0)
    rt_runtime = RUNTIME_INF;
    + else if ((u64)rt_runtime_us > U64_MAX / NSEC_PER_USEC)
    + return -EINVAL;

    return tg_set_rt_bandwidth(tg, rt_period, rt_runtime);
    }
    @@ -2579,6 +2581,9 @@ int sched_group_set_rt_period(struct task_group *tg, u64 rt_period_us)
    {
    u64 rt_runtime, rt_period;

    + if (rt_period_us > U64_MAX / NSEC_PER_USEC)
    + return -EINVAL;
    +
    rt_period = rt_period_us * NSEC_PER_USEC;
    rt_runtime = tg->rt_bandwidth.rt_runtime;

    --
    2.20.1


    \
     
     \ /
      Last update: 2019-05-30 06:10    [W:4.085 / U:0.012 seconds]
    ©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site