lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [May]   [13]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRE: [PATCH v2 3/7] lib/hexdump.c: Optionally suppress lines of repeated bytes
Date
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
> Sent: Monday, 13 May 2019 5:01 PM
> To: Alastair D'Silva <alastair@au1.ibm.com>
> Cc: alastair@d-silva.org; Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@linux.intel.com>; Joonas
> Lahtinen <joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com>; Rodrigo Vivi
> <rodrigo.vivi@intel.com>; David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>; Daniel Vetter
> <daniel@ffwll.ch>; Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@oracle.com>; Karsten
> Keil <isdn@linux-pingi.de>; Jassi Brar <jassisinghbrar@gmail.com>; Tom
> Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>; David S. Miller
> <davem@davemloft.net>; Jose Abreu <Jose.Abreu@synopsys.com>; Kalle
> Valo <kvalo@codeaurora.org>; Stanislaw Gruszka <sgruszka@redhat.com>;
> Benson Leung <bleung@chromium.org>; Enric Balletbo i Serra
> <enric.balletbo@collabora.com>; James E.J. Bottomley
> <jejb@linux.ibm.com>; Martin K. Petersen <martin.petersen@oracle.com>;
> Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>; Alexander Viro
> <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>; Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com>; Sergey
> Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com>; Steven Rostedt
> <rostedt@goodmis.org>; David Laight <David.Laight@aculab.com>; Andrew
> Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>; Intel Graphics Development <intel-
> gfx@lists.freedesktop.org>; DRI Development <dri-
> devel@lists.freedesktop.org>; Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-
> kernel@vger.kernel.org>; netdev <netdev@vger.kernel.org>;
> ath10k@lists.infradead.org; linux-wireless <linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org>;
> scsi <linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org>; Linux Fbdev development list <linux-
> fbdev@vger.kernel.org>; driverdevel <devel@driverdev.osuosl.org>; Linux
> FS Devel <linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org>
> Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 3/7] lib/hexdump.c: Optionally suppress lines of
> repeated bytes
>
> Hi Alastair,
>
> Thanks for your patch!

And thanks for your politeness :)

>
> On Wed, May 8, 2019 at 9:04 AM Alastair D'Silva <alastair@au1.ibm.com>
> wrote:
> > From: Alastair D'Silva <alastair@d-silva.org>
> >
> > Some buffers may only be partially filled with useful data, while the
> > rest is padded (typically with 0x00 or 0xff).
> >
> > This patch introduces a flag to allow the supression of lines of
> > repeated bytes,
>
> Given print_hex_dump() operates on entities of groupsize (1, 2, 4, or 8)
> bytes, wouldn't it make more sense to consider repeated groups instead of
> repeated bytes?

Maybe, it would mean that subsequent addresses may not be a multiple of rowsize though, which is useful.

> > which are replaced with '** Skipped %u bytes of value 0x%x **'
>
> Using a custom message instead of just "*", like "hexdump" uses, will require
> preprocessing the output when recovering the original binary data by
> feeding it to e.g. "xxd".
> This may sound worse than it is, though, as I never got "xxd" to work without
> preprocessing anyway ;-)

I think showing the details of the skipped values is useful when reading the output directly. In situations where binary extracts are desired, the feature can always be disabled.

--
Alastair D'Silva mob: 0423 762 819
skype: alastair_dsilva msn: alastair@d-silva.org
blog: http://alastair.d-silva.org Twitter: @EvilDeece



\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-05-13 09:36    [W:0.048 / U:0.364 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site