lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Apr]   [4]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 5.0 240/246] drm: Reorder set_property_atomic to avoid returning with an active ww_ctx
Date
5.0-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

[ Upstream commit 227ad6d957898a88b1746e30234ece64d305f066 ]

Delay the drm_modeset_acquire_init() until after we check for an
allocation failure so that we can return immediately upon error without
having to unwind.

WARNING: lock held when returning to user space!
4.20.0+ #174 Not tainted
------------------------------------------------
syz-executor556/8153 is leaving the kernel with locks still held!
1 lock held by syz-executor556/8153:
#0: 000000005100c85c (crtc_ww_class_acquire){+.+.}, at:
set_property_atomic+0xb3/0x330 drivers/gpu/drm/drm_mode_object.c:462

Reported-by: syzbot+6ea337c427f5083ebdf2@syzkaller.appspotmail.com
Fixes: 144a7999d633 ("drm: Handle properties in the core for atomic drivers")
Signed-off-by: Chris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk>
Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
Cc: Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Sean Paul <sean@poorly.run>
Cc: David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org> # v4.14+
Reviewed-by: Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>
Link: https://patchwork.freedesktop.org/patch/msgid/20181230122842.21917-1-chris@chris-wilson.co.uk

Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
drivers/gpu/drm/drm_mode_object.c | 1 +
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+)

diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/drm_mode_object.c b/drivers/gpu/drm/drm_mode_object.c
index 004191d01772..15b919f90c5a 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/drm_mode_object.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/drm_mode_object.c
@@ -465,6 +465,7 @@ static int set_property_atomic(struct drm_mode_object *obj,

drm_modeset_acquire_init(&ctx, 0);
state->acquire_ctx = &ctx;
+
retry:
if (prop == state->dev->mode_config.dpms_property) {
if (obj->type != DRM_MODE_OBJECT_CONNECTOR) {
--
2.19.1


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-04-04 11:19    [W:0.623 / U:13.488 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site