lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Apr]   [3]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
Date
SubjectRe: [tip:perf/urgent] perf/x86/intel: Initialize TFA MSR
On Wed, 3 Apr 2019, Thomas Gleixner wrote:

> On Wed, 3 Apr 2019, tip-bot for Peter Zijlstra wrote:
>
> > Commit-ID: d7262457e35dbe239659e62654e56f8ddb814bed
> > Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/d7262457e35dbe239659e62654e56f8ddb814bed
> > Author: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> > AuthorDate: Thu, 21 Mar 2019 13:38:49 +0100
> > Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
> > CommitDate: Wed, 3 Apr 2019 11:40:32 +0200
> >
> > perf/x86/intel: Initialize TFA MSR
> >
> > Stephane reported that the TFA MSR is not initialized by the kernel,
> > but the TFA bit could set by firmware or as a leftover from a kexec,
> > which makes the state inconsistent.
> >
> > Reported-by: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
> > Tested-by: Nelson DSouza <nelson.dsouza@intel.com>
> > Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
> > Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
> > Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
> > Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
> > Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
> > Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> > Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> > Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>
> > Cc: tonyj@suse.com
> > Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190321123849.GN6521@hirez.programming.kicks-ass.net
> > Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
>
> This lacks:
>
> 1) Fixes tag
>
> 2) Cc: stable ....
>
> Sigh.

It would also be nice to know what a "TFA" bit is without having to go
find a copy of the Intel documentation.

Vince

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-04-03 14:25    [W:0.079 / U:2.460 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site