lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Apr]   [26]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH AUTOSEL 4.19 26/53] linux/kernel.h: Use parentheses around argument in u64_to_user_ptr()
Date
From: Jann Horn <jannh@google.com>

[ Upstream commit a0fe2c6479aab5723239b315ef1b552673f434a3 ]

Use parentheses around uses of the argument in u64_to_user_ptr() to
ensure that the cast doesn't apply to part of the argument.

There are existing uses of the macro of the form

u64_to_user_ptr(A + B)

which expands to

(void __user *)(uintptr_t)A + B

(the cast applies to the first operand of the addition, the addition
is a pointer addition). This happens to still work as intended, the
semantic difference doesn't cause a difference in behavior.

But I want to use u64_to_user_ptr() with a ternary operator in the
argument, like so:

u64_to_user_ptr(A ? B : C)

This currently doesn't work as intended.

Signed-off-by: Jann Horn <jannh@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Reviewed-by: Mukesh Ojha <mojha@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Andrei Vagin <avagin@openvz.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@oracle.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@intel.com>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>
Cc: NeilBrown <neilb@suse.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Qiaowei Ren <qiaowei.ren@intel.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: x86-ml <x86@kernel.org>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190329214652.258477-1-jannh@google.com
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
include/linux/kernel.h | 4 ++--
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/include/linux/kernel.h b/include/linux/kernel.h
index d6aac75b51ba..3d83ebb302cf 100644
--- a/include/linux/kernel.h
+++ b/include/linux/kernel.h
@@ -73,8 +73,8 @@

#define u64_to_user_ptr(x) ( \
{ \
- typecheck(u64, x); \
- (void __user *)(uintptr_t)x; \
+ typecheck(u64, (x)); \
+ (void __user *)(uintptr_t)(x); \
} \
)

--
2.19.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-04-27 03:42    [W:0.120 / U:7.560 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site