lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Mar]   [21]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH] x86/events: add event map for AMD Family 17h
Date
From: Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@amd.com>

Family 17h differs from prior families by:
- not supporting an L2 cache miss event
- having re-enumerated PMC counters for:
- L2 cache references
- front & back end stalled cycles

So we add a new amd_f17h_perfmon_event_map so that the generic
perf event names will resolve to the correct h/w events on
family 17h and above processors.

Reference sections 2.1.13.3.3 (stalls) and 2.1.13.3.6 (L2):
https://www.amd.com/system/files/TechDocs/54945_PPR_Family_17h_Models_00h-0Fh.pdf

Fixes: e40ed1542dd7 ("perf/x86: Add perf support for AMD family-17h processors")
Signed-off-by: Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@amd.com>
Cc: Janakarajan Natarajan <Janakarajan.Natarajan@amd.com>
Cc: Suravee Suthikulpanit <Suravee.Suthikulpanit@amd.com>
Cc: Martin Liška <mliska@suse.cz>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Pu Wen <puwen@hygon.cn>
Cc: x86@kernel.org
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
---
arch/x86/events/amd/core.c | 17 +++++++++++++++++
1 file changed, 17 insertions(+)

diff --git a/arch/x86/events/amd/core.c b/arch/x86/events/amd/core.c
index 7d2d7c801dba..764d181afa18 100644
--- a/arch/x86/events/amd/core.c
+++ b/arch/x86/events/amd/core.c
@@ -127,8 +127,25 @@ static const u64 amd_perfmon_event_map[PERF_COUNT_HW_MAX] =
[PERF_COUNT_HW_STALLED_CYCLES_BACKEND] = 0x00d1, /* "Dispatch stalls" event */
};

+/*
+ * AMD Performance Monitor Family 17h
+ */
+static const u64 amd_f17h_perfmon_event_map[PERF_COUNT_HW_MAX] =
+{
+ [PERF_COUNT_HW_CPU_CYCLES] = 0x0076,
+ [PERF_COUNT_HW_INSTRUCTIONS] = 0x00c0,
+ [PERF_COUNT_HW_CACHE_REFERENCES] = 0xff60,
+ [PERF_COUNT_HW_BRANCH_INSTRUCTIONS] = 0x00c2,
+ [PERF_COUNT_HW_BRANCH_MISSES] = 0x00c3,
+ [PERF_COUNT_HW_STALLED_CYCLES_FRONTEND] = 0x0287,
+ [PERF_COUNT_HW_STALLED_CYCLES_BACKEND] = 0x0187,
+};
+
static u64 amd_pmu_event_map(int hw_event)
{
+ if (boot_cpu_data.x86 >= 0x17)
+ return amd_f17h_perfmon_event_map[hw_event];
+
return amd_perfmon_event_map[hw_event];
}

--
2.21.0
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-03-21 22:17    [W:0.033 / U:4.492 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site