lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Mar]   [21]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH v2] docs: Clarify the usage and sign-off requirements for Co-developed-by
On Thu, Mar 21, 2019 at 11:43:16AM -0700, Sean Christopherson wrote:
> The documentation for Co-developed-by is a bit light on details, e.g. it
> doesn't explicitly state that:
>
> - Multiple Co-developed-by tags are perfectly acceptable
> - Co-developed-by and Signed-off-by must be paired together
> - SOB ordering should still follow standard sign-off procedure
>
> Lack of explicit direciton has resulted in developers taking a variety
> of approaches, often lacking any intent whatsoever, e.g. scattering SOBs
> willy-nilly, collecting them all at the end or the beginning, etc...
>
> Tweak the wording to make it clear that multiple co-authors are allowed,
> and document the expectation that standard sign-off procedures are to
> be followed. Provide examples to (hopefully) eliminate any ambiguity.
>
> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> Cc: Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Jorge Ramirez-Ortiz <jorge.ramirez-ortiz@linaro.org>
> Cc: Jonathan Cameron <jic23@kernel.org>
> Cc: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com>
> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
> Cc: Niklas Cassel <niklas.cassel@linaro.org>
> Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
> Signed-off-by: Sean Christopherson <sean.j.christopherson@intel.com>

Reviewed-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-03-21 20:14    [W:0.076 / U:1.340 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site