lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Mar]   [20]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH] docs: Explicitly state ordering requirements for Co-developed-by
Date
Per Thomas' yet-to-be-merged "tip tree handbook"[1], Co-developed-by and
Signed-off-by must be paired together, i.e. the co-authors' SOB mustn't
be scattered willy-nilly, and the author's SOB must be the first SOB
*after* the last Co-developed-by/Signed-off-by pair. Provide an example
to eliminate any ambiguity.

[1] http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20181107171149.165693799@linutronix.de

Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Jorge Ramirez-Ortiz <jorge.ramirez-ortiz@linaro.org>
Cc: Jonathan Cameron <jic23@kernel.org>
Cc: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Niklas Cassel <niklas.cassel@linaro.org>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
Signed-off-by: Sean Christopherson <sean.j.christopherson@intel.com>
---
Documentation/process/submitting-patches.rst | 9 +++++++--
1 file changed, 7 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/Documentation/process/submitting-patches.rst b/Documentation/process/submitting-patches.rst
index be7d1829c3af..f4b5c4850601 100644
--- a/Documentation/process/submitting-patches.rst
+++ b/Documentation/process/submitting-patches.rst
@@ -547,8 +547,13 @@ have been included in the discussion.

A Co-developed-by: states that the patch was also created by another developer
along with the original author. This is useful at times when multiple people
-work on a single patch. Note, this person also needs to have a Signed-off-by:
-line in the patch as well.
+work on a single patch. Note, Co-developed-by: must be accompanied by a
+Signed-off-by: of the co-author(s). All Co-developed-by:/Signed-off-by: pairs
+must precede the Signed-off-by: of the original author.
+
+ Co-developed-by: Random Co-Author <random@coauthor.example.org>
+ Signed-off-by: Random Co-Author <random@coauthor.example.org>
+ Signed-off-by: Original Author <original@author.example.org>


13) Using Reported-by:, Tested-by:, Reviewed-by:, Suggested-by: and Fixes:
--
2.21.0
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-03-20 16:13    [W:0.058 / U:12.616 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site