lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Feb]   [27]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [RFC PATCH v2 09/14] watchdog/hardlockup: Make arch_touch_nmi_watchdog() to hpet-based implementation
On Wed, Feb 27, 2019 at 08:05:13AM -0800, Ricardo Neri wrote:
> CPU architectures that have an NMI watchdog use arch_touch_nmi_watchdog()
> to briefly ignore the hardlockup detector. If the architecture does not
> have an NMI watchdog, one can be constructed using a source of non-
> maskable interrupts. In this case, arch_touch_nmi_watchdog() is common
> to any underlying hardware resource used to drive the detector and needs
> to be available to other kernel subsystems if hardware different from perf
> drives the detector.
>
> There exists perf-based and HPET-based implementations. Make it available
> to the latter.
>
> For clarity, wrap this function in a separate preprocessor conditional
> from functions which are truly specific to the perf-based implementation.
>
> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
> Cc: Ashok Raj <ashok.raj@intel.com>
> Cc: Andi Kleen <andi.kleen@intel.com>
> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
> Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
> Cc: Don Zickus <dzickus@redhat.com>
> Cc: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>
> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@kernel.org>
> Cc: Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org>
> Cc: Babu Moger <babu.moger@oracle.com>
> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
> Cc: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
> Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@nexb.com>
> Cc: Colin Ian King <colin.king@canonical.com>
> Cc: Byungchul Park <byungchul.park@lge.com>
> Cc: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
> Cc: "Luis R. Rodriguez" <mcgrof@kernel.org>
> Cc: Waiman Long <longman@redhat.com>
> Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
> Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>
> Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dave@stgolabs.net>
> Cc: Christoffer Dall <cdall@linaro.org>
> Cc: Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>
> Cc: Kai-Heng Feng <kai.heng.feng@canonical.com>
> Cc: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
> Cc: "Ravi V. Shankar" <ravi.v.shankar@intel.com>
> Cc: x86@kernel.org
> Cc: sparclinux@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
> Signed-off-by: Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@linux.intel.com>
> ---
> include/linux/nmi.h | 10 +++++++++-
> 1 file changed, 9 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)
>
> diff --git a/include/linux/nmi.h b/include/linux/nmi.h
> index 5a8b19749769..bf5ebcfdd590 100644
> --- a/include/linux/nmi.h
> +++ b/include/linux/nmi.h
> @@ -94,8 +94,16 @@ static inline void hardlockup_detector_disable(void) {}
> # define NMI_WATCHDOG_SYSCTL_PERM 0444
> #endif
>
> -#if defined(CONFIG_HARDLOCKUP_DETECTOR_PERF)
> +#if defined(CONFIG_HARDLOCKUP_DETECTOR_PERF) || \
> + defined(CONFIG_X86_HARDLOCKUP_DETECTOR_HPET)

Why not instead make CONFIG_X86_HARDLOCKUP_DETECTOR_HPET select
CONFIG_HARDLOCKUP_DETECTOR_PERF? Keep the arch-specific details
in the arch-specific files and all that.

Thanx, Paul

> extern void arch_touch_nmi_watchdog(void);
> +#else
> +# if !defined(CONFIG_HAVE_NMI_WATCHDOG)
> +static inline void arch_touch_nmi_watchdog(void) {}
> +# endif
> +#endif
> +
> +#if defined(CONFIG_HARDLOCKUP_DETECTOR_PERF)
> extern void hardlockup_detector_perf_stop(void);
> extern void hardlockup_detector_perf_restart(void);
> extern void hardlockup_detector_perf_disable(void);
> --
> 2.17.1
>

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-02-27 17:18    [W:0.251 / U:8.844 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site