lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Feb]   [23]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH AUTOSEL 4.20 04/72] perf ordered_events: Fix crash in ordered_events__free
Date
From: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>

[ Upstream commit 99d86c8b88393e29cf07c020585f2c8afbcdd97d ]

Song Liu reported crash in 'perf record':

> #0 0x0000000000500055 in ordered_events(float, long double,...)(...) ()
> #1 0x0000000000500196 in ordered_events.reinit ()
> #2 0x00000000004fe413 in perf_session.process_events ()
> #3 0x0000000000440431 in cmd_record ()
> #4 0x00000000004a439f in run_builtin ()
> #5 0x000000000042b3e5 in main ()"

This can happen when we get out of buffers during event processing.

The subsequent ordered_events__free() call assumes oe->buffer != NULL
and crashes. Add a check to prevent that.

Reported-by: Song Liu <liu.song.a23@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Reviewed-by: Song Liu <liu.song.a23@gmail.com>
Tested-by: Song Liu <liu.song.a23@gmail.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190117113017.12977-1-jolsa@kernel.org
Fixes: d5ceb62b3654 ("perf ordered_events: Add 'struct ordered_events_buffer' layer")
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
tools/perf/util/ordered-events.c | 6 ++++--
1 file changed, 4 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/ordered-events.c b/tools/perf/util/ordered-events.c
index 1904e7f6ec84d..77126a5fa9b69 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/ordered-events.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/ordered-events.c
@@ -359,8 +359,10 @@ void ordered_events__free(struct ordered_events *oe)
* Current buffer might not have all the events allocated
* yet, we need to free only allocated ones ...
*/
- list_del(&oe->buffer->list);
- ordered_events_buffer__free(oe->buffer, oe->buffer_idx, oe);
+ if (oe->buffer) {
+ list_del(&oe->buffer->list);
+ ordered_events_buffer__free(oe->buffer, oe->buffer_idx, oe);
+ }

/* ... and continue with the rest */
list_for_each_entry_safe(buffer, tmp, &oe->to_free, list) {
--
2.19.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-02-23 22:35    [W:0.265 / U:10.984 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site