lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Feb]   [14]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH AUTOSEL 4.20 37/77] sched/wait: Fix rcuwait_wake_up() ordering
Date
From: Prateek Sood <prsood@codeaurora.org>

[ Upstream commit 6dc080eeb2ba01973bfff0d79844d7a59e12542e ]

For some peculiar reason rcuwait_wake_up() has the right barrier in
the comment, but not in the code.

This mistake has been observed to cause a deadlock in the following
situation:

P1 P2

percpu_up_read() percpu_down_write()
rcu_sync_is_idle() // false
rcu_sync_enter()
...
__percpu_up_read()

[S] ,- __this_cpu_dec(*sem->read_count)
| smp_rmb();
[L] | task = rcu_dereference(w->task) // NULL
|
| [S] w->task = current
| smp_mb();
| [L] readers_active_check() // fail
`-> <store happens here>

Where the smp_rmb() (obviously) fails to constrain the store.

[ peterz: Added changelog. ]

Signed-off-by: Prateek Sood <prsood@codeaurora.org>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Reviewed-by: Andrea Parri <andrea.parri@amarulasolutions.com>
Acked-by: Davidlohr Bueso <dbueso@suse.de>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Fixes: 8f95c90ceb54 ("sched/wait, RCU: Introduce rcuwait machinery")
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/1543590656-7157-1-git-send-email-prsood@codeaurora.org
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
kernel/exit.c | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/kernel/exit.c b/kernel/exit.c
index 55b4fa6d01eb..d607e23fd0c3 100644
--- a/kernel/exit.c
+++ b/kernel/exit.c
@@ -307,7 +307,7 @@ void rcuwait_wake_up(struct rcuwait *w)
* MB (A) MB (B)
* [L] cond [L] tsk
*/
- smp_rmb(); /* (B) */
+ smp_mb(); /* (B) */

/*
* Avoid using task_rcu_dereference() magic as long as we are careful,
--
2.19.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-02-15 03:41    [W:0.252 / U:3.060 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site