lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Dec]   [4]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRE: One question about trusted key of keyring in Linux kernel.
Date
Oh, get you, James. 
Understand, thanks for your feedback.
Looking forward for your proposed API.

- Shirley

-----Original Message-----
From: James Bottomley <jejb@linux.ibm.com>
Sent: Wednesday, December 4, 2019 11:33 AM
To: Zhao, Shirley <shirley.zhao@intel.com>; Mimi Zohar <zohar@linux.ibm.com>; Jarkko Sakkinen <jarkko.sakkinen@linux.intel.com>; Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
Cc: linux-integrity@vger.kernel.org; keyrings@vger.kernel.org; linux-doc@vger.kernel.org; linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org; 'Mauro Carvalho Chehab' <mchehab+samsung@kernel.org>; Zhu, Bing <bing.zhu@intel.com>; Chen, Luhai <luhai.chen@intel.com>
Subject: Re: One question about trusted key of keyring in Linux kernel.

On Wed, 2019-12-04 at 03:01 +0000, Zhao, Shirley wrote:
> Hi, James,
>
> Using policy digest to reload trusted key, doesn't work, either.
> Please check the steps below.
> I think policy digest should be calculated by TPM when verifying the
> policy to reload key.

You misunderstand my meaning: the API we have now doesn't work; the key blob the kernel returns currently after key create won't reload because it contains extraneous data. I was proposing a working API I thought might replace it, but obviously it has to be coded up and accepted into a kernel version before you can use it.

If you want to get trusted keys working today, I think the TPM 1.2 API still works if you have a TPM 1.2 system.

James

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-12-04 07:40    [W:0.050 / U:5.644 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site