lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Dec]   [3]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.19 199/321] mm/page_alloc.c: use a single function to free page
Date
From: Aaron Lu <aaron.lu@intel.com>

[ Upstream commit 742aa7fb52c56fb3b307e704f93e67b698959cc2 ]

There are multiple places of freeing a page, they all do the same things
so a common function can be used to reduce code duplicate.

It also avoids bug fixed in one function but left in another.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20181119134834.17765-3-aaron.lu@intel.com
Signed-off-by: Aaron Lu <aaron.lu@intel.com>
Acked-by: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Alexander Duyck <alexander.h.duyck@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Ilias Apalodimas <ilias.apalodimas@linaro.org>
Cc: Jesper Dangaard Brouer <brouer@redhat.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
Cc: Pankaj gupta <pagupta@redhat.com>
Cc: Pawel Staszewski <pstaszewski@itcare.pl>
Cc: Tariq Toukan <tariqt@mellanox.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
mm/page_alloc.c | 37 ++++++++++++++-----------------------
1 file changed, 14 insertions(+), 23 deletions(-)

diff --git a/mm/page_alloc.c b/mm/page_alloc.c
index dcc46d955df2e..74fb5c338e8fb 100644
--- a/mm/page_alloc.c
+++ b/mm/page_alloc.c
@@ -4451,16 +4451,19 @@ unsigned long get_zeroed_page(gfp_t gfp_mask)
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL(get_zeroed_page);

-void __free_pages(struct page *page, unsigned int order)
+static inline void free_the_page(struct page *page, unsigned int order)
{
- if (put_page_testzero(page)) {
- if (order == 0)
- free_unref_page(page);
- else
- __free_pages_ok(page, order);
- }
+ if (order == 0) /* Via pcp? */
+ free_unref_page(page);
+ else
+ __free_pages_ok(page, order);
}

+void __free_pages(struct page *page, unsigned int order)
+{
+ if (put_page_testzero(page))
+ free_the_page(page, order);
+}
EXPORT_SYMBOL(__free_pages);

void free_pages(unsigned long addr, unsigned int order)
@@ -4509,14 +4512,8 @@ void __page_frag_cache_drain(struct page *page, unsigned int count)
{
VM_BUG_ON_PAGE(page_ref_count(page) == 0, page);

- if (page_ref_sub_and_test(page, count)) {
- unsigned int order = compound_order(page);
-
- if (order == 0)
- free_unref_page(page);
- else
- __free_pages_ok(page, order);
- }
+ if (page_ref_sub_and_test(page, count))
+ free_the_page(page, compound_order(page));
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL(__page_frag_cache_drain);

@@ -4581,14 +4578,8 @@ void page_frag_free(void *addr)
{
struct page *page = virt_to_head_page(addr);

- if (unlikely(put_page_testzero(page))) {
- unsigned int order = compound_order(page);
-
- if (order == 0) /* Via pcp? */
- free_unref_page(page);
- else
- __free_pages_ok(page, order);
- }
+ if (unlikely(put_page_testzero(page)))
+ free_the_page(page, compound_order(page));
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL(page_frag_free);

--
2.20.1


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-12-04 00:03    [W:0.813 / U:27.696 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site