lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Dec]   [18]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
Subject[PATCH 00/18] mfd: demodularization of non-modular drivers
Date
This group of MFD drivers are all controlled by "bool" Kconfig settings,
but contain module infrastructure like unused/orphaned "remove" and
__exit functions, use of <linux/module.h> and/or MODULE_ macros that
are no-ops in the non-modular case.

We can remove/replace all of the above. We are trying to make driver
code consistent with the Makefiles/Kconfigs that control them. This
means not using modular functions/macros for drivers that can never be
built as a module. Some of the downfalls this leads to are:

(1) it is easy to accidentally write unused module_exit and remove code
(2) it can be misleading when reading the source, thinking it can be
modular when the Makefile and/or Kconfig prohibit it
(3) it requires the include of the module.h header file which in turn
includes nearly everything else, thus adding to CPP overhead.
(4) it gets copied/replicated into other drivers and spreads quickly.

We've integrated hundreds of these type cleanups already, as the git
history will show. This is just a continuation of that objective.

The ".remove" function linked into the device structure deserves an
extra comment. While the normal execution path would be from a module
unload (if it was modular), it is theoretically possible that a person
could use the core driver infrastructure to manually push the driver off
the hardware; an "unbind" event -- which would run the ".remove" function.

Given that, in this series, when we delete a ".remove" function from
the driver struct, we also disable unbind. Should there be a valid use
case out there that has been overlooked, this will ensure we get to see
it and can react/revert accordingly.

Build testing was done on drivers/mfd for allmodconfig on x86_64, ARM
and ARM-64 (on linux-next).

---

Cc: Alexandre Torgue <alexandre.torgue@st.com>
Cc: Daniel Ribeiro <drwyrm@gmail.com>
Cc: Graeme Gregory <gg@slimlogic.co.uk>
Cc: Haojian Zhuang <haojian.zhuang@marvell.com>
Cc: Harald Welte <laforge@openezx.org>
Cc: Ian Molton <spyro@f2s.com>
Cc: Jorge Eduardo Candelaria <jorge.candelaria@ti.com>
Cc: Keshava Munegowda <keshava_mgowda@ti.com>
Cc: Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>
Cc: Maxime Coquelin <mcoquelin.stm32@gmail.com>
Cc: Mike Rapoport <mike@compulab.co.il>
Cc: Milo Kim <milo.kim@ti.com>
Cc: Misael Lopez Cruz <misael.lopez@ti.com>
Cc: Peter Ujfalusi <peter.ujfalusi@ti.com>
Cc: Rabin Vincent <rabin.vincent@stericsson.com>
Cc: Roger Quadros <rogerq@ti.com>
Cc: Tony Lindgren <tony@atomide.com>
Cc: Viresh Kumar <vireshk@kernel.org>
Cc: Yang, Bin <bin.yang@intel.com>
Cc: Zhu, Lejun <lejun.zhu@linux.intel.com>
Cc: linux-omap@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-stm32@st-md-mailman.stormreply.com

Paul Gortmaker (18):
mfd: stmpe-spi: Make it explicitly non-modular
mfd: stmpe-i2c: Make it explicitly non-modular
mfd: ezx-pcap: Make it explicitly non-modular
mfd: 88pm860x-*: Make it explicitly non-modular
mfd: tc3589: Make it explicitly non-modular
mfd: tc6387xb: Make it explicitly non-modular
mfd: tc6393xb: Make it explicitly non-modular
mfd: twl4030-audio: Make it explicitly non-modular
mfd: twl4030-power: Make it explicitly non-modular
mfd: twl6040: Make it explicitly non-modular
mfd: t7l66xb: Make it explicitly non-modular
mfd: lp8788: Make it explicitly non-modular
mfd: menelaus: Make it explicitly non-modular
mfd: tps6586x: Make it explicitly non-modular
mfd: omap-usb-tll: Make it explicitly non-modular
mfd: omap-usb-host: Make it explicitly non-modular
mfd: palmas: Make it explicitly non-modular
mfd: intel_soc_pmic_core: Make it explicitly non-modular

drivers/mfd/88pm860x-core.c | 40 ++-------------------------------
drivers/mfd/88pm860x-i2c.c | 1 -
drivers/mfd/ezx-pcap.c | 42 +++-------------------------------
drivers/mfd/intel_soc_pmic_core.c | 31 +++-----------------------
drivers/mfd/lp8788.c | 24 ++------------------
drivers/mfd/menelaus.c | 24 ++++----------------
drivers/mfd/omap-usb-host.c | 47 +++++----------------------------------
drivers/mfd/omap-usb-tll.c | 47 ++++-----------------------------------
drivers/mfd/palmas.c | 36 +-----------------------------
drivers/mfd/stmpe-i2c.c | 23 ++-----------------
drivers/mfd/stmpe-spi.c | 23 ++-----------------
drivers/mfd/stmpe.c | 14 ------------
drivers/mfd/stmpe.h | 1 -
drivers/mfd/t7l66xb.c | 37 ++++--------------------------
drivers/mfd/tc3589x.c | 26 ++--------------------
drivers/mfd/tc6387xb.c | 30 ++++---------------------
drivers/mfd/tc6393xb.c | 43 ++---------------------------------
drivers/mfd/tps6586x.c | 26 ++--------------------
drivers/mfd/twl4030-audio.c | 21 +++--------------
drivers/mfd/twl4030-power.c | 19 +++-------------
drivers/mfd/twl6040.c | 29 +++---------------------
21 files changed, 51 insertions(+), 533 deletions(-)

--
2.7.4

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-12-18 21:50    [W:0.080 / U:9.588 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site