lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Dec]   [16]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Date
Subject[PATCH 3.16 120/136] perf tools: Fix time sorting
3.16.80-rc1 review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>

commit 722ddfde366fd46205456a9c5ff9b3359dc9a75e upstream.

The final sort might get confused when the comparison is done over
bigger numbers than int like for -s time.

Check the following report for longer workloads:

$ perf report -s time -F time,overhead --stdio

Fix hist_entry__sort() to properly return int64_t and not possible cut
int.

Fixes: 043ca389a318 ("perf tools: Use hpp formats to sort final output")
Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Reviewed-by: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Michael Petlan <mpetlan@redhat.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Link: http://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20191104232711.16055-1-jolsa@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
---
tools/perf/util/hist.c | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

--- a/tools/perf/util/hist.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/hist.c
@@ -1032,7 +1032,7 @@ void hists__collapse_resort(struct hists
}
}

-static int hist_entry__sort(struct hist_entry *a, struct hist_entry *b)
+static int64_t hist_entry__sort(struct hist_entry *a, struct hist_entry *b)
{
struct perf_hpp_fmt *fmt;
int64_t cmp = 0;
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-12-17 01:56    [W:0.382 / U:0.476 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site