lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Dec]   [16]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Date
Subject[PATCH 3.16 095/136] perf/x86/amd/ibs: Fix reading of the IBS OpData register and thus precise RIP validity
3.16.80-rc1 review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@amd.com>

commit 317b96bb14303c7998dbcd5bc606bd8038fdd4b4 upstream.

The loop that reads all the IBS MSRs into *buf stopped one MSR short of
reading the IbsOpData register, which contains the RipInvalid status bit.

Fix the offset_max assignment so the MSR gets read, so the RIP invalid
evaluation is based on what the IBS h/w output, instead of what was
left in memory.

Signed-off-by: Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@amd.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>
Fixes: d47e8238cd76 ("perf/x86-ibs: Take instruction pointer from ibs sample")
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20191023150955.30292-1-kim.phillips@amd.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
[bwh: Backported to 3.16: adjust filename]
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
---
arch/x86/kernel/cpu/perf_event_amd_ibs.c | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

--- a/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/perf_event_amd_ibs.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/perf_event_amd_ibs.c
@@ -555,7 +555,7 @@ static int perf_ibs_handle_irq(struct pe
if (event->attr.sample_type & PERF_SAMPLE_RAW)
offset_max = perf_ibs->offset_max;
else if (check_rip)
- offset_max = 2;
+ offset_max = 3;
else
offset_max = 1;
do {
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-12-17 01:54    [W:0.333 / U:2.132 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site