lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Dec]   [16]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Date
Subject[PATCH 3.16 096/136] perf/x86/amd/ibs: Handle erratum #420 only on the affected CPU family (10h)
3.16.80-rc1 review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@amd.com>

commit e431e79b60603079d269e0c2a5177943b95fa4b6 upstream.

This saves us writing the IBS control MSR twice when disabling the
event.

I searched revision guides for all families since 10h, and did not
find occurrence of erratum #420, nor anything remotely similar:
so we isolate the secondary MSR write to family 10h only.

Also unconditionally update the count mask for IBS Op implementations
that have read & writeable current count (CurCnt) fields in addition
to the MaxCnt field. These bits were reserved on prior
implementations, and therefore shouldn't have negative impact.

Signed-off-by: Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@amd.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>
Fixes: c9574fe0bdb9 ("perf/x86-ibs: Implement workaround for IBS erratum #420")
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20191023150955.30292-2-kim.phillips@amd.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
[bwh: Backported to 3.16:
- Don't update the count mask; we don't use or define the CurCnt fields here
- Adjust filename]
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
---
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/perf_event_amd_ibs.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/perf_event_amd_ibs.c
@@ -351,7 +351,8 @@ static inline void perf_ibs_disable_even
struct hw_perf_event *hwc, u64 config)
{
config &= ~perf_ibs->cnt_mask;
- wrmsrl(hwc->config_base, config);
+ if (boot_cpu_data.x86 == 0x10)
+ wrmsrl(hwc->config_base, config);
config &= ~perf_ibs->enable_mask;
wrmsrl(hwc->config_base, config);
}
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-12-17 01:54    [W:0.341 / U:2.544 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site