lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Dec]   [16]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 5.4 111/177] perf tests: Fix out of bounds memory access
Date
From: Leo Yan <leo.yan@linaro.org>

commit af8490eb2b33684e26a0a927a9d93ae43cd08890 upstream.

The test case 'Read backward ring buffer' failed on 32-bit architectures
which were found by LKFT perf testing. The test failed on arm32 x15
device, qemu_arm32, qemu_i386, and found intermittent failure on i386;
the failure log is as below:

50: Read backward ring buffer :
--- start ---
test child forked, pid 510
Using CPUID GenuineIntel-6-9E-9
mmap size 1052672B
mmap size 8192B
Finished reading overwrite ring buffer: rewind
free(): invalid next size (fast)
test child interrupted
---- end ----
Read backward ring buffer: FAILED!

The log hints there have issue for memory usage, thus free() reports
error 'invalid next size' and directly exit for the case. Finally, this
issue is root caused as out of bounds memory access for the data array
'evsel->id'.

The backward ring buffer test invokes do_test() twice. 'evsel->id' is
allocated at the first call with the flow:

test__backward_ring_buffer()
`-> do_test()
`-> evlist__mmap()
`-> evlist__mmap_ex()
`-> perf_evsel__alloc_id()

So 'evsel->id' is allocated with one item, and it will be used in
function perf_evlist__id_add():

evsel->id[0] = id
evsel->ids = 1

At the second call for do_test(), it skips to initialize 'evsel->id'
and reuses the array which is allocated in the first call. But
'evsel->ids' contains the stale value. Thus:

evsel->id[1] = id -> out of bound access
evsel->ids = 2

To fix this issue, we will use evlist__open() and evlist__close() pair
functions to prepare and cleanup context for evlist; so 'evsel->id' and
'evsel->ids' can be initialized properly when invoke do_test() and avoid
the out of bounds memory access.

Fixes: ee74701ed8ad ("perf tests: Add test to check backward ring buffer")
Signed-off-by: Leo Yan <leo.yan@linaro.org>
Reviewed-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Naresh Kamboju <naresh.kamboju@linaro.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Wang Nan <wangnan0@huawei.com>
Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org # v4.10+
Link: http://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20191107020244.2427-1-leo.yan@linaro.org
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
tools/perf/tests/backward-ring-buffer.c | 9 +++++++++
1 file changed, 9 insertions(+)

--- a/tools/perf/tests/backward-ring-buffer.c
+++ b/tools/perf/tests/backward-ring-buffer.c
@@ -147,6 +147,15 @@ int test__backward_ring_buffer(struct te
goto out_delete_evlist;
}

+ evlist__close(evlist);
+
+ err = evlist__open(evlist);
+ if (err < 0) {
+ pr_debug("perf_evlist__open: %s\n",
+ str_error_r(errno, sbuf, sizeof(sbuf)));
+ goto out_delete_evlist;
+ }
+
err = do_test(evlist, 1, &sample_count, &comm_count);
if (err != TEST_OK)
goto out_delete_evlist;

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-12-16 19:19    [W:0.392 / U:7.824 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site