lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Nov]   [6]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
Date
SubjectRe: [PATCH 0/5] CAAM JR lifecycle
On Tue, Nov 5, 2019 at 11:27 PM Vakul Garg <vakul.garg@nxp.com> wrote:
>
>
>
> > -----Original Message-----
> > From: linux-crypto-owner@vger.kernel.org <linux-crypto-
> > owner@vger.kernel.org> On Behalf Of Andrey Smirnov
> > Sent: Tuesday, November 5, 2019 8:44 PM
> > To: linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org
> > Cc: Andrey Smirnov <andrew.smirnov@gmail.com>; Chris Healy
> > <cphealy@gmail.com>; Lucas Stach <l.stach@pengutronix.de>; Horia Geanta
> > <horia.geanta@nxp.com>; Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>;
> > Iuliana Prodan <iuliana.prodan@nxp.com>; dl-linux-imx <linux-
> > imx@nxp.com>; linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
> > Subject: [PATCH 0/5] CAAM JR lifecycle
> >
> > Everyone:
> >
> > This series is a different approach to addressing the issues brought up in
> > [discussion]. This time the proposition is to get away from creating per-JR
> > platfrom device, move all of the underlying code into caam.ko and disable
> > manual binding/unbinding of the CAAM device via sysfs. Note that this series
> > is a rough cut intented to gauge if this approach could be acceptable for
> > upstreaming.
> >
> > Thanks,
> > Andrey Smirnov
> >
> > [discussion] lore.kernel.org/lkml/20190904023515.7107-13-
> > andrew.smirnov@gmail.com
> >
> > Andrey Smirnov (5):
> > crypto: caam - use static initialization
> > crypto: caam - introduce caam_jr_cbk
> > crypto: caam - convert JR API to use struct caam_drv_private_jr
> > crypto: caam - do not create a platform devices for JRs
> > crypto: caam - disable CAAM's bind/unbind attributes
> >
>
> To access caam jobrings from DPDK (user space drivers), we unbind job-ring's platform device from the kernel.
> What would be the alternate way to enable job ring drivers in user space?
>

Wouldn't either building your kernel with
CONFIG_CRYPTO_DEV_FSL_CAAM_JR=n (this series doesn't handle that right
currently due to being a rough cut) or disabling specific/all JRs via
DT accomplish the same goal?

Thanks,
Andrey Smirnov

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-11-06 16:20    [W:0.129 / U:0.108 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site