lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Nov]   [28]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH v2 1/8] add header file for kelvin to/from Celsius conversion helpers
Date
There are several helper macros to convert kelvin to/from Celsius in
<linux/thermal.h> for thermal drivers. These are useful for any other
drivers or subsystems, but it's odd to include <linux/thermal.h> just for
the helpers.

This adds a new <linux/temperature.h> that provides the equivalent inline
functions for any drivers or subsystems. It is intended to replace the
helpers in <linux/thermal.h>.

Cc: Sujith Thomas <sujith.thomas@intel.com>
Cc: Darren Hart <dvhart@infradead.org>
Cc: Andy Shevchenko <andy@infradead.org>
Cc: Zhang Rui <rui.zhang@intel.com>
Cc: Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@linaro.org>
Cc: Amit Kucheria <amit.kucheria@verdurent.com>
Cc: Jean Delvare <jdelvare@suse.com>
Cc: Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net>
Cc: Keith Busch <kbusch@kernel.org>
Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@fb.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Cc: Sagi Grimberg <sagi@grimberg.me>
Signed-off-by: Akinobu Mita <akinobu.mita@gmail.com>
---
* v2
- add deci_kelvin_to_millicelsius_with_offset() in linux/temperature.h
- stop including linux/temperature.h from linux/thermal.h

include/linux/temperature.h | 51 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
1 file changed, 51 insertions(+)
create mode 100644 include/linux/temperature.h

diff --git a/include/linux/temperature.h b/include/linux/temperature.h
new file mode 100644
index 0000000..679e70a
--- /dev/null
+++ b/include/linux/temperature.h
@@ -0,0 +1,51 @@
+/* SPDX-License-Identifier: GPL-2.0 */
+#ifndef _LINUX_TEMPERATURE_H
+#define _LINUX_TEMPERATURE_H
+
+#include <linux/kernel.h>
+
+#define ABSOLUTE_ZERO_MILLICELSIUS -273150
+
+static inline long kelvin_to_millicelsius(long t)
+{
+ return t * 1000 + ABSOLUTE_ZERO_MILLICELSIUS;
+}
+
+static inline long millicelsius_to_kelvin(long t)
+{
+ return DIV_ROUND_CLOSEST(t - ABSOLUTE_ZERO_MILLICELSIUS, 1000);
+}
+
+static inline long deci_kelvin_to_celsius(long t)
+{
+ return DIV_ROUND_CLOSEST(t * 100 + ABSOLUTE_ZERO_MILLICELSIUS, 1000);
+}
+
+static inline long celsius_to_deci_kelvin(long t)
+{
+ return t * 10 - DIV_ROUND_CLOSEST(ABSOLUTE_ZERO_MILLICELSIUS, 100);
+}
+
+/**
+ * deci_kelvin_to_millicelsius_with_offset - convert Kelvin to Celsius
+ * @t: temperature value in decidegrees Kelvin
+ * @offset: difference between Kelvin and Celsius in millidegrees
+ *
+ * Return: temperature value in millidegrees Celsius
+ */
+static inline long deci_kelvin_to_millicelsius_with_offset(long t, long offset)
+{
+ return t * 100 - offset;
+}
+
+static inline long deci_kelvin_to_millicelsius(long t)
+{
+ return t * 100 + ABSOLUTE_ZERO_MILLICELSIUS;
+}
+
+static inline long millicelsius_to_deci_kelvin(long t)
+{
+ return DIV_ROUND_CLOSEST(t - ABSOLUTE_ZERO_MILLICELSIUS, 100);
+}
+
+#endif /* _LINUX_TEMPERATURE_H */
--
2.7.4
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-11-28 15:55    [W:0.080 / U:5.200 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site