lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Nov]   [25]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
Date
SubjectRe: [PATCH 1/8] add header file for kelvin to/from Celsius conversion helpers
2019年11月24日(日) 23:57 Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com>:
>
> On Sun, Nov 24, 2019 at 4:09 PM Akinobu Mita <akinobu.mita@gmail.com> wrote:
> >
> > There are several helper macros to convert kelvin to/from Celsius in
> > <linux/thermal.h> for thermal drivers. These are useful for any other
> > drivers or subsystems, but it's odd to include <linux/thermal.h> just for
> > the helpers.
> >
> > This adds a new <linux/temperature.h> that provides the equivalent inline
> > functions for any drivers or subsystems. It is intended to replace the
> > helpers in <linux/thermal.h>.
> >
> > Cc: Sujith Thomas <sujith.thomas@intel.com>
> > Cc: Darren Hart <dvhart@infradead.org>
> > Cc: Andy Shevchenko <andy@infradead.org>
> > Cc: Zhang Rui <rui.zhang@intel.com>
> > Cc: Eduardo Valentin <edubezval@gmail.com>
> > Cc: Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@linaro.org>
> > Cc: Amit Kucheria <amit.kucheria@verdurent.com>
> > Cc: Jean Delvare <jdelvare@suse.com>
> > Cc: Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net>
> > Cc: Keith Busch <kbusch@kernel.org>
> > Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@fb.com>
> > Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
> > Cc: Sagi Grimberg <sagi@grimberg.me>
> > Signed-off-by: Akinobu Mita <akinobu.mita@gmail.com>
> > ---
> > include/linux/temperature.h | 39 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
>
> > include/linux/thermal.h | 1 +
>
>
> > --- a/include/linux/thermal.h
> > +++ b/include/linux/thermal.h
> > @@ -14,6 +14,7 @@
> > #include <linux/idr.h>
> > #include <linux/device.h>
> > #include <linux/sysfs.h>
> > +#include <linux/temperature.h>
> > #include <linux/workqueue.h>
> > #include <uapi/linux/thermal.h>
>
> I don't see any users of it. Why did you include?

The rest of this patch series starts using it.

I decided to include <linux/temperature.h> from <linux/thermal.h> because
the existing <linux/thermal.h> provides the conversion helpers.

However, not all of the thermal drivers require these conversion helpers,
so we can change to include <linux/temperature.h> from each thermal driver
instead of including it from <linux/thermal.h>.

Which way do you prefer?

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-11-25 15:31    [W:0.056 / U:0.648 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site