lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Nov]   [24]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH V10] mm/debug: Add tests validating architecture page table helpers
Date
On 11/20/2019 11:01 AM, Anshuman Khandual wrote:
> This adds tests which will validate architecture page table helpers and
> other accessors in their compliance with expected generic MM semantics.
> This will help various architectures in validating changes to existing
> page table helpers or addition of new ones.
>
> This test covers basic page table entry transformations including but not
> limited to old, young, dirty, clean, write, write protect etc at various
> level along with populating intermediate entries with next page table page
> and validating them.
>
> Test page table pages are allocated from system memory with required size
> and alignments. The mapped pfns at page table levels are derived from a
> real pfn representing a valid kernel text symbol. This test gets called
> right after page_alloc_init_late().
>
> This gets build and run when CONFIG_DEBUG_VM_PGTABLE is selected along with
> CONFIG_VM_DEBUG. Architectures willing to subscribe this test also need to
> select CONFIG_ARCH_HAS_DEBUG_VM_PGTABLE which for now is limited to x86 and
> arm64. Going forward, other architectures too can enable this after fixing
> build or runtime problems (if any) with their page table helpers.
>
> Folks interested in making sure that a given platform's page table helpers
> conform to expected generic MM semantics should enable the above config
> which will just trigger this test during boot. Any non conformity here will
> be reported as an warning which would need to be fixed. This test will help
> catch any changes to the agreed upon semantics expected from generic MM and
> enable platforms to accommodate it thereafter.
>
> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
> Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>
> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
> Cc: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>
> Cc: Steven Price <Steven.Price@arm.com>
> Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
> Cc: Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>
> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
> Cc: Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@i-love.sakura.ne.jp>
> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
> Cc: Sri Krishna chowdary <schowdary@nvidia.com>
> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
> Cc: Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
> Cc: James Hogan <jhogan@kernel.org>
> Cc: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com>
> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
> Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill@shutemov.name>
> Cc: Gerald Schaefer <gerald.schaefer@de.ibm.com>
> Cc: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr>
> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
> Cc: linux-snps-arc@lists.infradead.org
> Cc: linux-mips@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
> Cc: linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
> Cc: linux-s390@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-sh@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: sparclinux@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: x86@kernel.org
> Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
>
> Tested-by: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr> #PPC32
> Reviewed-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
> Suggested-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> Signed-off-by: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr>
> Signed-off-by: Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>
> ---
> This adds a test validation for architecture exported page table helpers.
> Patch adds basic transformation tests at various levels of the page table.
>
> This test was originally suggested by Catalin during arm64 THP migration
> RFC discussion earlier. Going forward it can include more specific tests
> with respect to various generic MM functions like THP, HugeTLB etc and
> platform specific tests.
>
> https://lore.kernel.org/linux-mm/20190628102003.GA56463@arrakis.emea.arm.com/
>
> Needs to be applied on linux-next (next-20191108).
>
> Changes in V10:
>
> - Always enable DEBUG_VM_PGTABLE when DEBUG_VM is enabled per Ingo
> - Added tags from Ingo

Hello Andrew,

There has not been any further comments on the previous version (V9) or this version
(V10) of the patch which accommodated a comment from Ingo Molnar regarding making
DEBUG_VM_PGTABLE always enabled when DEBUG_VM is selected. If this version looks okay,
then would you please consider merging ? But if there is anything which still needs
to be improved, please do let me know. I will try to incorporate that. Thank you.

- Anshuman

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-11-25 05:28    [W:0.054 / U:7.668 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site