lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Nov]   [24]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRE: [PATCH 1/2] can: xilinx_can: skip error message on deferred probe
Date
Hi,

> -----Original Message-----
> From: Srinivas Neeli <srinivas.neeli@xilinx.com>
> Sent: Wednesday, November 20, 2019 5:41 PM
> To: wg@grandegger.com; mkl@pengutronix.de; davem@davemloft.net;
> Michal Simek <michals@xilinx.com>; Appana Durga Kedareswara Rao
> <appanad@xilinx.com>
> Cc: linux-can@vger.kernel.org; netdev@vger.kernel.org; linux-arm-
> kernel@lists.infradead.org; linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org; git
> <git@xilinx.com>; Naga Sureshkumar Relli <nagasure@xilinx.com>;
> Venkatesh Yadav Abbarapu <VABBARAP@xilinx.com>; Srinivas Neeli
> <sneeli@xilinx.com>
> Subject: [PATCH 1/2] can: xilinx_can: skip error message on deferred probe
>
> From: Venkatesh Yadav Abbarapu <venkatesh.abbarapu@xilinx.com>
>
> When can clock is provided from the clock wizard, clock wizard driver may
> not be available when can driver probes resulting to the error message "bus
> clock not found error".
>
> As this error message is not very useful to the end user, skip printing in the
> case of deferred probe.
>
> Signed-off-by: Venkatesh Yadav Abbarapu <venkatesh.abbarapu@xilinx.com>
> Signed-off-by: Srinivas Neeli <srinivas.neeli@xilinx.com>
> Signed-off-by: Michal Simek <michal.simek@xilinx.com>

@Srinivas Neeli: Please send v2 with improved commit message as Marc suggested, feel free to add
Reviewed-by: Appana Durga Kedareswara Rao <appana.durga.rao@xilinx.com> in v2.

Regards,
Kedar.
> ---
> drivers/net/can/xilinx_can.c | 3 ++-
> 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)
>
> diff --git a/drivers/net/can/xilinx_can.c b/drivers/net/can/xilinx_can.c index
> 4a96e2dd7d77..c5f05b994435 100644
> --- a/drivers/net/can/xilinx_can.c
> +++ b/drivers/net/can/xilinx_can.c
> @@ -1772,7 +1772,8 @@ static int xcan_probe(struct platform_device
> *pdev)
>
> priv->bus_clk = devm_clk_get(&pdev->dev, devtype->bus_clk_name);
> if (IS_ERR(priv->bus_clk)) {
> - dev_err(&pdev->dev, "bus clock not found\n");
> + if (PTR_ERR(priv->bus_clk) != -EPROBE_DEFER)
> + dev_err(&pdev->dev, "bus clock not found\n");
> ret = PTR_ERR(priv->bus_clk);
> goto err_free;
> }
> --
> 2.7.4

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-11-25 05:00    [W:0.096 / U:0.060 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site