lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Nov]   [13]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip: perf/core] perf/core: Fix unlock balance in perf_init_event()
The following commit has been merged into the perf/core branch of tip:

Commit-ID: deb0c3c29d552ab81ecd5481bb83bf2f4e41927d
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/deb0c3c29d552ab81ecd5481bb83bf2f4e41927d
Author: Qian Cai <cai@lca.pw>
AuthorDate: Wed, 06 Nov 2019 00:29:35 -05:00
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitterDate: Wed, 13 Nov 2019 11:06:13 +01:00

perf/core: Fix unlock balance in perf_init_event()

Commit:

66d258c5b048 ("perf/core: Optimize perf_init_event()")

introduced an unlock imbalance in perf_init_event() where it calls
"goto again" and then only repeat rcu_read_unlock().

Signed-off-by: Qian Cai <cai@lca.pw>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>
Fixes: 66d258c5b048 ("perf/core: Optimize perf_init_event()")
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20191106052935.8352-1-cai@lca.pw
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
kernel/events/core.c | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/kernel/events/core.c b/kernel/events/core.c
index 6cb6d68..8d65e03 100644
--- a/kernel/events/core.c
+++ b/kernel/events/core.c
@@ -10307,7 +10307,6 @@ static struct pmu *perf_init_event(struct perf_event *event)
goto unlock;
}

- rcu_read_lock();
/*
* PERF_TYPE_HARDWARE and PERF_TYPE_HW_CACHE
* are often aliases for PERF_TYPE_RAW.
@@ -10317,6 +10316,7 @@ static struct pmu *perf_init_event(struct perf_event *event)
type = PERF_TYPE_RAW;

again:
+ rcu_read_lock();
pmu = idr_find(&pmu_idr, type);
rcu_read_unlock();
if (pmu) {
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-11-13 11:57    [W:0.072 / U:2.332 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site