lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Nov]   [12]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH AUTOSEL 4.14 095/115] x86/kexec: Correct KEXEC_BACKUP_SRC_END off-by-one error
Date
From: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>

[ Upstream commit 51fbf14f2528a8c6401290e37f1c893a2412f1d3 ]

The only use of KEXEC_BACKUP_SRC_END is as an argument to
walk_system_ram_res():

int crash_load_segments(struct kimage *image)
{
...
walk_system_ram_res(KEXEC_BACKUP_SRC_START, KEXEC_BACKUP_SRC_END,
image, determine_backup_region);

walk_system_ram_res() expects "start, end" arguments that are inclusive,
i.e., the range to be walked includes both the start and end addresses.

KEXEC_BACKUP_SRC_END was previously defined as (640 * 1024UL), which is the
first address *past* the desired 0-640KB range.

Define KEXEC_BACKUP_SRC_END as (640 * 1024UL - 1) so the KEXEC_BACKUP_SRC
region is [0-0x9ffff], not [0-0xa0000].

Fixes: dd5f726076cc ("kexec: support for kexec on panic using new system call")
Signed-off-by: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
CC: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
CC: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
CC: Brijesh Singh <brijesh.singh@amd.com>
CC: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
CC: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
CC: Lianbo Jiang <lijiang@redhat.com>
CC: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de>
CC: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
CC: Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>
CC: Vivek Goyal <vgoyal@redhat.com>
CC: baiyaowei@cmss.chinamobile.com
CC: bhe@redhat.com
CC: dan.j.williams@intel.com
CC: dyoung@redhat.com
CC: kexec@lists.infradead.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/153805811578.1157.6948388946904655969.stgit@bhelgaas-glaptop.roam.corp.google.com
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
arch/x86/include/asm/kexec.h | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/include/asm/kexec.h b/arch/x86/include/asm/kexec.h
index f327236f0fa71..5125fca472bb0 100644
--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/kexec.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/kexec.h
@@ -67,7 +67,7 @@ struct kimage;

/* Memory to backup during crash kdump */
#define KEXEC_BACKUP_SRC_START (0UL)
-#define KEXEC_BACKUP_SRC_END (640 * 1024UL) /* 640K */
+#define KEXEC_BACKUP_SRC_END (640 * 1024UL - 1) /* 640K */

/*
* CPU does not save ss and sp on stack if execution is already
--
2.20.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-11-13 03:11    [W:0.927 / U:1.432 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site