lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Oct]   [4]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
Subject[PATCH 0/3] drm/komeda: Support for drm_bridge endpoints
Date
Greetings,

This series attempts to add support for endpoints (in the DT sense)
whose drivers only have a drm_bridge interface, unlike the tda998x,
which uses the component framework and provides all of drm_encoder,
drm_bridge, drm_connector.

1 & 2 should be fairly non-contentious, and I believe are valuable
enough on their own as they remove some pointer chasing and a few
allocations at the top level of komeda.

3 is the meat of this series, where I add the drm_bridge endpoint code.
This was tested with ti_tfp410 on the back end of a D71. I've tagged it
with an RFC since I drew inspiration from tilcdc, which does similar
shenanigans to detect tda998x vs non-tda998x, and is hence a precedent
for including similar handling, but I wasn't sure if there's a more well
established pattern.

Note that I opted not to remove the previous way of doing things for
tda998x, even though it could work with the drm_bridge handling
directly, since AFAIUI, device links haven't been implemented for
drm_bridge (see [1] for an attempt at doing that that never landed, and
I'm not aware of any refcounting having been added since), and therefore
getting a drm_bridge driver rmmod'ed while in use would be Bad(tm).

[1] https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20180426223139.16740-1-peda@axentia.se/

Cc: Liviu Dudau <liviu.dudau@arm.com>
Cc: Brian Starkey <brian.starkey@arm.com>
Cc: James (Qian) Wang <james.qian.wang@arm.com>
Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>
Cc: David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>
Cc: Maxime Ripard <mripard@kernel.org>
Cc: Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Sean Paul <sean@poorly.run>


Mihail Atanassov (3):
drm/komeda: Consolidate struct komeda_drv allocations
drm/komeda: Memory manage struct komeda_drv in probe/remove
drm/komeda: Allow non-component drm_bridge only endpoints

.../gpu/drm/arm/display/komeda/komeda_dev.c | 21 +--
.../gpu/drm/arm/display/komeda/komeda_dev.h | 9 +-
.../gpu/drm/arm/display/komeda/komeda_drv.c | 118 ++++++++-----
.../gpu/drm/arm/display/komeda/komeda_kms.c | 159 ++++++++++++++++--
.../gpu/drm/arm/display/komeda/komeda_kms.h | 9 +-
5 files changed, 243 insertions(+), 73 deletions(-)

--
2.23.0

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-10-04 16:36    [W:0.106 / U:4.960 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site