lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Oct]   [3]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH] mm/page_alloc: Add a reason for reserved pages in has_unmovable_pages()
Date
Having unmovable pages on a given pageblock should be reported correctly
when required with REPORT_FAILURE flag. But there can be a scenario where a
reserved page in the page block will get reported as a generic "unmovable"
reason code. Instead this should be changed to a more appropriate reason
code like "Reserved page".

Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Pavel Tatashin <pavel.tatashin@microsoft.com>
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>
---
mm/page_alloc.c | 4 +++-
1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/mm/page_alloc.c b/mm/page_alloc.c
index 15c2050c629b..fbf93ea119d2 100644
--- a/mm/page_alloc.c
+++ b/mm/page_alloc.c
@@ -8206,8 +8206,10 @@ bool has_unmovable_pages(struct zone *zone, struct page *page, int count,

page = pfn_to_page(check);

- if (PageReserved(page))
+ if (PageReserved(page)) {
+ reason = "Reserved page";
goto unmovable;
+ }

/*
* If the zone is movable and we have ruled out all reserved
--
2.20.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-10-03 10:11    [W:0.089 / U:3.488 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site