lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Oct]   [16]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH V2] mm/page_alloc: Add alloc_contig_pages()
From
Date


On 10/16/2019 04:39 PM, David Hildenbrand wrote:
> On 16.10.19 13:02, Anshuman Khandual wrote:
>> HugeTLB helper alloc_gigantic_page() implements fairly generic allocation
>> method where it scans over various zones looking for a large contiguous pfn
>> range before trying to allocate it with alloc_contig_range(). Other than
>> deriving the requested order from 'struct hstate', there is nothing HugeTLB
>> specific in there. This can be made available for general use to allocate
>> contiguous memory which could not have been allocated through the buddy
>> allocator.
>>
>> alloc_gigantic_page() has been split carving out actual allocation method
>> which is then made available via new alloc_contig_pages() helper wrapped
>> under CONFIG_CONTIG_ALLOC. All references to 'gigantic' have been replaced
>> with more generic term 'contig'. Allocated pages here should be freed with
>> free_contig_range() or by calling __free_page() on each allocated page.
>>
>> Cc: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
>> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
>> Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
>> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
>> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
>> Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
>> Cc: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>
>> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
>> Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
>> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
>> Cc: Pavel Tatashin <pavel.tatashin@microsoft.com>
>> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
>> Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
>> Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
>> Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
>> Signed-off-by: Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>
>> ---
>> This is based on https://patchwork.kernel.org/patch/11190213/
>>
>> Changes in V2:
>>
>> - Rephrased patch subject per David
>> - Fixed all typos per David
>> - s/order/contiguous
>
> Just to make sure, you ignored my comment regarding alignment although I explicitly mentioned it a second time? Thanks.

I had asked Michal explicitly what to be included for the respin. Anyways
seems like the previous thread is active again. I am happy to incorporate
anything new getting agreed on there.

- Anshuman

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-10-16 13:14    [W:0.070 / U:2.400 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site