lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Oct]   [16]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 5.3 066/112] perf llvm: Dont access out-of-scope array
Date
From: Ian Rogers <irogers@google.com>

commit 7d4c85b7035eb2f9ab217ce649dcd1bfaf0cacd3 upstream.

The 'test_dir' variable is assigned to the 'release' array which is
out-of-scope 3 lines later.

Extend the scope of the 'release' array so that an out-of-scope array
isn't accessed.

Bug detected by clang's address sanitizer.

Fixes: 07bc5c699a3d ("perf tools: Make fetch_kernel_version() publicly available")
Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org # v4.4+
Signed-off-by: Ian Rogers <irogers@google.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Wang Nan <wangnan0@huawei.com>
Link: http://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20190926220018.25402-1-irogers@google.com
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
tools/perf/util/llvm-utils.c | 6 +++---
1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

--- a/tools/perf/util/llvm-utils.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/llvm-utils.c
@@ -231,14 +231,14 @@ static int detect_kbuild_dir(char **kbui
const char *prefix_dir = "";
const char *suffix_dir = "";

+ /* _UTSNAME_LENGTH is 65 */
+ char release[128];
+
char *autoconf_path;

int err;

if (!test_dir) {
- /* _UTSNAME_LENGTH is 65 */
- char release[128];
-
err = fetch_kernel_version(NULL, release,
sizeof(release));
if (err)

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-10-17 00:00    [W:0.350 / U:6.492 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site