lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Oct]   [16]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.19 81/81] perf/hw_breakpoint: Fix arch_hw_breakpoint use-before-initialization
Date
From: Mark-PK Tsai <mark-pk.tsai@mediatek.com>

commit 310aa0a25b338b3100c94880c9a69bec8ce8c3ae upstream.

If we disable the compiler's auto-initialization feature, if
-fplugin-arg-structleak_plugin-byref or -ftrivial-auto-var-init=pattern
are disabled, arch_hw_breakpoint may be used before initialization after:

9a4903dde2c86 ("perf/hw_breakpoint: Split attribute parse and commit")

On our ARM platform, the struct step_ctrl in arch_hw_breakpoint, which
used to be zero-initialized by kzalloc(), may be used in
arch_install_hw_breakpoint() without initialization.

Signed-off-by: Mark-PK Tsai <mark-pk.tsai@mediatek.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Alix Wu <alix.wu@mediatek.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: YJ Chiang <yj.chiang@mediatek.com>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190906060115.9460-1-mark-pk.tsai@mediatek.com
[ Minor edits. ]
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Doug Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
kernel/events/hw_breakpoint.c | 4 ++--
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

--- a/kernel/events/hw_breakpoint.c
+++ b/kernel/events/hw_breakpoint.c
@@ -426,7 +426,7 @@ static int hw_breakpoint_parse(struct pe

int register_perf_hw_breakpoint(struct perf_event *bp)
{
- struct arch_hw_breakpoint hw;
+ struct arch_hw_breakpoint hw = { };
int err;

err = reserve_bp_slot(bp);
@@ -474,7 +474,7 @@ int
modify_user_hw_breakpoint_check(struct perf_event *bp, struct perf_event_attr *attr,
bool check)
{
- struct arch_hw_breakpoint hw;
+ struct arch_hw_breakpoint hw = { };
int err;

err = hw_breakpoint_parse(bp, attr, &hw);

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-10-16 23:59    [W:0.539 / U:0.128 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site