lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jan]   [31]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[RFC PATCH 1/3] arm64: entry: Remove unneeded need_resched() loop
Date
Since the enabling and disabling of IRQs within preempt_schedule_irq()
is contained in a need_resched() loop, we don't need the outer arch
code loop.

Reported-by: Julien Thierry <julien.thierry@arm.com>
Reported-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: Valentin Schneider <valentin.schneider@arm.com>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>
Cc: Julien Grall <julien.grall@arm.com>
Cc: Julien Thierry <julien.thierry@arm.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
---
arch/arm64/kernel/entry.S | 11 +----------
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 10 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/arm64/kernel/entry.S b/arch/arm64/kernel/entry.S
index 0ec0c46b2c0c..4d0c81f29a60 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/kernel/entry.S
+++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/entry.S
@@ -611,7 +611,7 @@ el1_irq:
#ifdef CONFIG_PREEMPT
ldr x24, [tsk, #TSK_TI_PREEMPT] // get preempt count
cbnz x24, 1f // preempt count != 0
- bl el1_preempt
+ bl preempt_schedule_irq // irq en/disable is done inside
1:
#endif
#ifdef CONFIG_TRACE_IRQFLAGS
@@ -620,15 +620,6 @@ el1_irq:
kernel_exit 1
ENDPROC(el1_irq)

-#ifdef CONFIG_PREEMPT
-el1_preempt:
- mov x24, lr
-1: bl preempt_schedule_irq // irq en/disable is done inside
- ldr x0, [tsk, #TSK_TI_FLAGS] // get new tasks TI_FLAGS
- tbnz x0, #TIF_NEED_RESCHED, 1b // needs rescheduling?
- ret x24
-#endif
-
/*
* EL0 mode handlers.
*/
--
2.20.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-01-31 19:25    [W:0.087 / U:6.420 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site