lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jan]   [31]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
SubjectRe: linux-next: powerpc le qemu boot failure after merge of the akpm tree
From
Date


Le 31/01/2019 à 07:06, Stephen Rothwell a écrit :
> Hi all,
>
> On Thu, 31 Jan 2019 16:38:54 +1100 Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au> wrote:
>>
>> [I am guessing that is is something in Andrew's tree that has caused
>> this.]
>>
>> My qemu boot of the powerpc pseries_le_defconfig config failed like this:
>>
>> htab_hash_mask = 0x1ffff
>> -----------------------------------------------------
>> numa: NODE_DATA [mem 0x7ffe7000-0x7ffebfff]
>> Kernel panic - not syncing: sparse_buffer_init: Failed to allocate 2147483648 bytes align=0x10000 nid=0 from=fffffffffffffff
>> CPU: 0 PID: 0 Comm: swapper Not tainted 5.0.0-rc4 #2
>> Call Trace:
>> [c00000000105bbd0] [c000000000b1345c] dump_stack+0xb0/0xf4 (unreliable)
>> [c00000000105bc10] [c000000000111120] panic+0x168/0x3b8
>> [c00000000105bcb0] [c000000000e701c8] sparse_init_nid+0x178/0x550
>> [c00000000105bd70] [c000000000e709b4] sparse_init+0x210/0x238
>> [c00000000105bdb0] [c000000000e468f4] initmem_init+0x1e0/0x260
>> [c00000000105be80] [c000000000e3b9b0] setup_arch+0x354/0x3d4
>> [c00000000105bef0] [c000000000e33afc] start_kernel+0x98/0x648
>> [c00000000105bf90] [c00000000000b270] start_here_common+0x1c/0x52c
>
> A quick bisect leads to this:
>
> 1c3c9328cde027eb875ba4692f0a5d66b0afe862 is the first bad commit
> commit 1c3c9328cde027eb875ba4692f0a5d66b0afe862
> Author: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
> Date: Thu Jan 31 10:51:32 2019 +1100
>
> treewide: add checks for the return value of memblock_alloc*()
>
> Add check for the return value of memblock_alloc*() functions and call
> panic() in case of error. The panic message repeats the one used by
> panicing memblock allocators with adjustment of parameters to include only
> relevant ones.
>
> The replacement was mostly automated with semantic patches like the one
> below with manual massaging of format strings.
>
> @@
> expression ptr, size, align;
> @@
> ptr = memblock_alloc(size, align);
> + if (!ptr)
> + panic("%s: Failed to allocate %lu bytes align=0x%lx\n", __func__,
> size, align);
>
> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1548057848-15136-20-git-send-email-rppt@linux.ibm.com
> Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
> Reviewed-by: Guo Ren <ren_guo@c-sky.com> [c-sky]
> Acked-by: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com> [MIPS]
> Acked-by: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> [s390]
> Reviewed-by: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com> [Xen]
> Reviewed-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> [m68k]
> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
> Cc: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr>
> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
> Cc: Dennis Zhou <dennis@kernel.org>
> Cc: Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com>
> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
> Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@pku.edu.cn>
> Cc: Guo Ren <guoren@kernel.org>
> Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com>
> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>
> Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com>
> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>
> Cc: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com>
> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>
> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>
> Cc: Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>
> Cc: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
> Cc: Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com>
> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
>
> Which is just adding the panic we hit. So, presumably, the bug is in a
> preceding patch :-(
>
> I have left the kernel not booting for today.
>

No I think the error is really in that patch, see my other mail.

See
https://elixir.bootlin.com/linux/v5.0-rc4/source/mm/memblock.c#L1455,
memblock_alloc_try_nid_raw() is not supposed to panic, so the last hunk
of this patch should be reverted.

Found in total three problematic hunks in that patch:

@@ -48,6 +53,11 @@ static phys_addr_t __init kasan_alloc_raw_page(int node)
void *p = memblock_alloc_try_nid_raw(PAGE_SIZE, PAGE_SIZE,
__pa(MAX_DMA_ADDRESS),
MEMBLOCK_ALLOC_KASAN, node);
+ if (!p)
+ panic("%s: Failed to allocate %lu bytes align=0x%lx nid=%d from=%llx\n",
+ __func__, PAGE_SIZE, PAGE_SIZE, node,
+ __pa(MAX_DMA_ADDRESS));
+
return __pa(p);
}

@@ -211,6 +211,9 @@ static int __init iob_init(struct device_node *dn)
iob_l2_base = memblock_alloc_try_nid_raw(1UL << 21, 1UL << 21,
MEMBLOCK_LOW_LIMIT, 0x80000000,
NUMA_NO_NODE);
+ if (!iob_l2_base)
+ panic("%s: Failed to allocate %lu bytes align=0x%lx max_addr=%x\n",
+ __func__, 1UL << 21, 1UL << 21, 0x80000000);

pr_info("IOBMAP L2 allocated at: %p\n", iob_l2_base);

@@ -425,6 +436,10 @@ static void __init sparse_buffer_init(unsigned long
size, int nid)
memblock_alloc_try_nid_raw(size, PAGE_SIZE,
__pa(MAX_DMA_ADDRESS),
MEMBLOCK_ALLOC_ACCESSIBLE, nid);
+ if (!sparsemap_buf)
+ panic("%s: Failed to allocate %lu bytes align=0x%lx nid=%d from=%lx\n",
+ __func__, size, PAGE_SIZE, nid, __pa(MAX_DMA_ADDRESS));
+
sparsemap_buf_end = sparsemap_buf + size;
}


Christophe

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-01-31 07:16    [W:0.086 / U:1.304 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site