lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jan]   [31]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH 2/3] mm/filemap: initiate readahead even if IOCB_NOWAIT is set for the I/O
[Cc fs-devel]

On Wed 30-01-19 13:44:19, Vlastimil Babka wrote:
> From: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
>
> preadv2(RWF_NOWAIT) can be used to open a side-channel to pagecache contents, as
> it reveals metadata about residency of pages in pagecache.
>
> If preadv2(RWF_NOWAIT) returns immediately, it provides a clear "page not
> resident" information, and vice versa.
>
> Close that sidechannel by always initiating readahead on the cache if we
> encounter a cache miss for preadv2(RWF_NOWAIT); with that in place, probing
> the pagecache residency itself will actually populate the cache, making the
> sidechannel useless.

I guess the current wording doesn't disallow background IO to be
triggered for EAGAIN case. I am not sure whether that breaks clever
applications which try to perform larger IO for those cases though.

> Originally-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: Dominique Martinet <asmadeus@codewreck.org>
> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
> Cc: Dave Chinner <david@fromorbit.com>
> Cc: Kevin Easton <kevin@guarana.org>
> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
> Cc: Cyril Hrubis <chrubis@suse.cz>
> Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
> Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill@shutemov.name>
> Cc: Daniel Gruss <daniel@gruss.cc>
> Signed-off-by: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
> Signed-off-by: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
> ---
> mm/filemap.c | 2 --
> 1 file changed, 2 deletions(-)
>
> diff --git a/mm/filemap.c b/mm/filemap.c
> index 9f5e323e883e..7bcdd36e629d 100644
> --- a/mm/filemap.c
> +++ b/mm/filemap.c
> @@ -2075,8 +2075,6 @@ static ssize_t generic_file_buffered_read(struct kiocb *iocb,
>
> page = find_get_page(mapping, index);
> if (!page) {
> - if (iocb->ki_flags & IOCB_NOWAIT)
> - goto would_block;
> page_cache_sync_readahead(mapping,
> ra, filp,
> index, last_index - index);

Maybe a stupid question but I am not really familiar with this path but
what exactly does prevent a sync read down page_cache_sync_readahead
path?
--
Michal Hocko
SUSE Labs

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-01-31 10:56    [W:0.347 / U:3.640 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site