lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jan]   [30]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 2/3] mm/filemap: initiate readahead even if IOCB_NOWAIT is set for the I/O
Date
From: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>

preadv2(RWF_NOWAIT) can be used to open a side-channel to pagecache contents, as
it reveals metadata about residency of pages in pagecache.

If preadv2(RWF_NOWAIT) returns immediately, it provides a clear "page not
resident" information, and vice versa.

Close that sidechannel by always initiating readahead on the cache if we
encounter a cache miss for preadv2(RWF_NOWAIT); with that in place, probing
the pagecache residency itself will actually populate the cache, making the
sidechannel useless.

Originally-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Dominique Martinet <asmadeus@codewreck.org>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
Cc: Dave Chinner <david@fromorbit.com>
Cc: Kevin Easton <kevin@guarana.org>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Cyril Hrubis <chrubis@suse.cz>
Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill@shutemov.name>
Cc: Daniel Gruss <daniel@gruss.cc>
Signed-off-by: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
Signed-off-by: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
---
mm/filemap.c | 2 --
1 file changed, 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/mm/filemap.c b/mm/filemap.c
index 9f5e323e883e..7bcdd36e629d 100644
--- a/mm/filemap.c
+++ b/mm/filemap.c
@@ -2075,8 +2075,6 @@ static ssize_t generic_file_buffered_read(struct kiocb *iocb,

page = find_get_page(mapping, index);
if (!page) {
- if (iocb->ki_flags & IOCB_NOWAIT)
- goto would_block;
page_cache_sync_readahead(mapping,
ra, filp,
index, last_index - index);
--
2.20.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-01-30 13:47    [W:0.294 / U:1.096 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site