lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jan]   [25]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH v2 7/9] arm64: kdump: No need to mark crashkernel pages manually PG_reserved
On Mon, Jan 14, 2019 at 01:59:01PM +0100, David Hildenbrand wrote:
> The crashkernel is reserved via memblock_reserve(). memblock_free_all()
> will call free_low_memory_core_early(), which will go over all reserved
> memblocks, marking the pages as PG_reserved.
>
> So manually marking pages as PG_reserved is not necessary, they are
> already in the desired state (otherwise they would have been handed over
> to the buddy as free pages and bad things would happen).
>
> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
> Cc: James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>
> Cc: Bhupesh Sharma <bhsharma@redhat.com>
> Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
> Cc: Dave Kleikamp <dave.kleikamp@oracle.com>
> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
> Cc: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>
> Cc: Stefan Agner <stefan@agner.ch>
> Cc: Laura Abbott <labbott@redhat.com>
> Cc: Greg Hackmann <ghackmann@android.com>
> Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
> Cc: Kristina Martsenko <kristina.martsenko@arm.com>
> Cc: CHANDAN VN <chandan.vn@samsung.com>
> Cc: AKASHI Takahiro <takahiro.akashi@linaro.org>
> Cc: Logan Gunthorpe <logang@deltatee.com>
> Reviewed-by: Matthias Brugger <mbrugger@suse.com>
> Signed-off-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>

Acked-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-01-25 17:29    [W:0.051 / U:2.464 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site