lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jan]   [17]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH 2/8 v4] Documentation: bindings: dma: Add binding for dma-channel-mask
On Wed, Jan 16, 2019 at 09:10:23AM -0800, John Stultz wrote:
> Some dma channels can be reserved for secure mode or other
> hardware on the SoC, so provide a binding for a bitmask
> listing the available channels for the kernel to use.
>
> This follows the pre-existing bcm,dma-channel-mask binding.
>
> Cc: Vinod Koul <vkoul@kernel.org>
> Cc: Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>
> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
> Cc: Tanglei Han <hantanglei@huawei.com>
> Cc: Zhuangluan Su <suzhuangluan@hisilicon.com>
> Cc: Ryan Grachek <ryan@edited.us>
> Cc: Manivannan Sadhasivam <manivannan.sadhasivam@linaro.org>
> Cc: dmaengine@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: devicetree@vger.kernel.org
> Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
> ---
> v3: Renamed to hisi-dma-avail-chan
> v4: Reworked to generic dma-channel-mask
> ---
> Documentation/devicetree/bindings/dma/dma.txt | 4 ++++
> 1 file changed, 4 insertions(+)
>
> diff --git a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/dma/dma.txt b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/dma/dma.txt
> index 6312fb0..eeb4e4d 100644
> --- a/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/dma/dma.txt
> +++ b/Documentation/devicetree/bindings/dma/dma.txt
> @@ -16,6 +16,9 @@ Optional properties:
> - dma-channels: Number of DMA channels supported by the controller.
> - dma-requests: Number of DMA request signals supported by the
> controller.
> +- dma-channel-mask: Bitmask of available DMA channels in ascending order
> + that are not reserved by firmware and are available to
> + the kernel. i.e. first channel corresponds to LSB.

A general assumption is, "dma-channel-mask" refers to the bit fields of
the channels which needs to be masked. But here, it refers to the channels
which are available. Doesn't it contradict?

Thanks,
Mani

>
> Example:
>
> @@ -29,6 +32,7 @@ Example:
> #dma-cells = <1>;
> dma-channels = <32>;
> dma-requests = <127>;
> + dma-channel-mask = <0xfffe>
> };
>
> * DMA router
> --
> 2.7.4
>

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-01-17 18:09    [W:0.129 / U:7.292 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site