lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jan]   [15]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH 5/8] scsi: lpfc: change snprintf to scnprintf for possible overflow
From
Date

On 1/14/2019 5:15 PM, Kees Cook wrote:
> On Sat, Jan 12, 2019 at 7:29 AM Willy Tarreau<w@1wt.eu> wrote:
>> From: Silvio Cesare<silvio.cesare@gmail.com>
>>
>> Change snprintf to scnprintf. There are generally two cases where using
>> snprintf causes problems.
>>
>> 1) Uses of size += snprintf(buf, SIZE - size, fmt, ...)
>> In this case, if snprintf would have written more characters than what the
>> buffer size (SIZE) is, then size will end up larger than SIZE. In later
>> uses of snprintf, SIZE - size will result in a negative number, leading
>> to problems. Note that size might already be too large by using
>> size = snprintf before the code reaches a case of size += snprintf.
>>
>> 2) If size is ultimately used as a length parameter for a copy back to user
>> space, then it will potentially allow for a buffer overflow and information
>> disclosure when size is greater than SIZE. When the size is used to index
>> the buffer directly, we can have memory corruption. This also means when
>> size = snprintf... is used, it may also cause problems since size may become
>> large. Copying to userspace is mitigated by the HARDENED_USERCOPY kernel
>> configuration.
>>
>> The solution to these issues is to use scnprintf which returns the number of
>> characters actually written to the buffer, so the size variable will never
>> exceed SIZE.
>>
>> Signed-off-by: Silvio Cesare<silvio.cesare@gmail.com>
>> Cc: James Smart<james.smart@broadcom.com>
>> Cc: Dick Kennedy<dick.kennedy@broadcom.com>
>> Cc: Dan Carpenter<dan.carpenter@oracle.com>
>> Cc: Kees Cook<keescook@chromium.org>
>> Cc: Will Deacon<will.deacon@arm.com>
>> Cc: Greg KH<greg@kroah.com>
>> Signed-off-by: Willy Tarreau<w@1wt.eu>
> I think this needs Cc: stable.
>
> Reviewed-by: Kees Cook<keescook@chromium.org>
>
> -Kees
>


Reviewed-by:  James Smart <james.smart@broadcom.com>

-- james

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-01-15 23:42    [W:0.097 / U:1.700 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site