lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Sep]   [5]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 77/77] perf tests: Fix record+probe_libc_inet_pton.sh without ping's debuginfo
Date
From: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>

When we don't have the iputils-debuginfo package installed, i.e. when we
don't have the DWARF information needed to resolve ping's samples, we
end up failing this 'perf test' entry:

# perf test ping
62: probe libc's inet_pton & backtrace it with ping : Ok
# rpm -e iputils-debuginfo
# perf test ping
62: probe libc's inet_pton & backtrace it with ping : FAILED!
#

Fix it to accept "[unknown]" where the symbol + offset, when resolved,
is expected.

I think this will fail in the other arches as well, but since I can't
test now, I'm leaving s390x and ppc cases as-is.

Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
Cc: Hendrik Brueckner <brueckner@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Cc: Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@arm.com>
Cc: Michael Petlan <mpetlan@redhat.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Naveen N. Rao <naveen.n.rao@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Ravi Bangoria <ravi.bangoria@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Sandipan Das <sandipan@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Sukadev Bhattiprolu <sukadev@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Thomas Richter <tmricht@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Wang Nan <wangnan0@huawei.com>
Fixes: 7903a7086723 ("perf script: Show symbol offsets by default")
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-hnizqwqrs03vcq1b74yao0f6@git.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
---
tools/perf/tests/shell/record+probe_libc_inet_pton.sh | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/tests/shell/record+probe_libc_inet_pton.sh b/tools/perf/tests/shell/record+probe_libc_inet_pton.sh
index 3013ac8f83d0..cab7b0aea6ea 100755
--- a/tools/perf/tests/shell/record+probe_libc_inet_pton.sh
+++ b/tools/perf/tests/shell/record+probe_libc_inet_pton.sh
@@ -48,7 +48,7 @@ trace_libc_inet_pton_backtrace() {
*)
eventattr='max-stack=3'
echo "getaddrinfo\+0x[[:xdigit:]]+[[:space:]]\($libc\)$" >> $expected
- echo ".*\+0x[[:xdigit:]]+[[:space:]]\(.*/bin/ping.*\)$" >> $expected
+ echo ".*(\+0x[[:xdigit:]]+|\[unknown\])[[:space:]]\(.*/bin/ping.*\)$" >> $expected
;;
esac

--
2.14.4
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-09-06 00:08    [W:0.252 / U:0.320 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site