lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Sep]   [3]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 05/13] perf/hw_breakpoint: Enable breakpoint in modify_user_hw_breakpoint
Date
From: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>

Currently we enable the breakpoint back only if the breakpoint
modification was successful. If it fails we can leave the breakpoint in
disabled state with attr->disabled == 0.

We can safely enable the breakpoint back for both the fail and success
paths by checking the bp->attr.disabled, which either holds the new
'requested' disabled state or the original breakpoint state.

Suggested-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Acked-by: Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@kernel.org>
Acked-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Tested-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
Cc: Milind Chabbi <chabbi.milind@gmail.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180827091228.2878-5-jolsa@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
---
kernel/events/hw_breakpoint.c | 6 ++----
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

diff --git a/kernel/events/hw_breakpoint.c b/kernel/events/hw_breakpoint.c
index 3e560d7609fd..d6b56180827c 100644
--- a/kernel/events/hw_breakpoint.c
+++ b/kernel/events/hw_breakpoint.c
@@ -523,13 +523,11 @@ int modify_user_hw_breakpoint(struct perf_event *bp, struct perf_event_attr *att
perf_event_disable(bp);

err = modify_user_hw_breakpoint_check(bp, attr, false);
- if (err)
- return err;

- if (!attr->disabled)
+ if (!bp->attr.disabled)
perf_event_enable(bp);

- return 0;
+ return err;
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(modify_user_hw_breakpoint);

--
2.14.4
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-09-03 16:54    [W:0.101 / U:0.380 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site