lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Sep]   [24]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.18 218/235] selftest: timers: Tweak raw_skew to SKIP when ADJ_OFFSET/other clock adjustments are in progress
Date
4.18-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>

[ Upstream commit 1416270f4a1ae83ea84156ceba19a66a8f88be1f ]

In the past we've warned when ADJ_OFFSET was in progress, usually
caused by ntpd or some other time adjusting daemon running in non
steady sate, which can cause the skew calculations to be
incorrect.

Thus, this patch checks to see if the clock was being adjusted
when we fail so that we don't cause false negatives.

Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Miroslav Lichvar <mlichvar@redhat.com>
Cc: Richard Cochran <richardcochran@gmail.com>
Cc: Prarit Bhargava <prarit@redhat.com>
Cc: Stephen Boyd <sboyd@kernel.org>
Cc: Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org>
Cc: linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org
Suggested-by: Miroslav Lichvar <mlichvar@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
---
v2: Widened the checks to look for other clock adjustments that
could happen, as suggested by Miroslav
v3: Fixed up commit message
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <alexander.levin@microsoft.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
---
tools/testing/selftests/timers/raw_skew.c | 5 +++++
1 file changed, 5 insertions(+)

--- a/tools/testing/selftests/timers/raw_skew.c
+++ b/tools/testing/selftests/timers/raw_skew.c
@@ -134,6 +134,11 @@ int main(int argv, char **argc)
printf(" %lld.%i(act)", ppm/1000, abs((int)(ppm%1000)));

if (llabs(eppm - ppm) > 1000) {
+ if (tx1.offset || tx2.offset ||
+ tx1.freq != tx2.freq || tx1.tick != tx2.tick) {
+ printf(" [SKIP]\n");
+ return ksft_exit_skip("The clock was adjusted externally. Shutdown NTPd or other time sync daemons\n");
+ }
printf(" [FAILED]\n");
return ksft_exit_fail();
}

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-09-24 14:48    [W:0.694 / U:1.180 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site