lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Sep]   [24]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.18 047/235] perf tools: Synthesize GROUP_DESC feature in pipe mode
Date
4.18-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>

[ Upstream commit e8fedff1cc729fd227924305152ccc6f580e8c83 ]

Stephan reported, that pipe mode does not carry the group information
and thus the piped report won't display the grouped output for following
command:

# perf record -e '{cycles,instructions,branches}' -a sleep 4 | perf report

It has no idea about the group setup, so it will display events
separately:

# Overhead Command Shared Object ...
# ........ ............... .......................
#
6.71% swapper [kernel.kallsyms]
2.28% offlineimap libpython2.7.so.1.0
0.78% perf [kernel.kallsyms]
...

Fix GROUP_DESC feature record to be synthesized in pipe mode, so the
report output is grouped if there are groups defined in record:

# Overhead Command Shared ...
# ........................ ............... .......
#
7.57% 0.16% 0.30% swapper [kernel
1.87% 3.15% 2.46% offlineimap libpyth
1.33% 0.00% 0.00% perf [kernel
...

Reported-by: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Tested-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Tested-by: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
Cc: David Carrillo-Cisneros <davidcc@google.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180712135202.14774-1-jolsa@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <alexander.levin@microsoft.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
---
tools/perf/util/header.c | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

--- a/tools/perf/util/header.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/header.c
@@ -2587,7 +2587,7 @@ static const struct feature_ops feat_ops
FEAT_OPR(NUMA_TOPOLOGY, numa_topology, true),
FEAT_OPN(BRANCH_STACK, branch_stack, false),
FEAT_OPR(PMU_MAPPINGS, pmu_mappings, false),
- FEAT_OPN(GROUP_DESC, group_desc, false),
+ FEAT_OPR(GROUP_DESC, group_desc, false),
FEAT_OPN(AUXTRACE, auxtrace, false),
FEAT_OPN(STAT, stat, false),
FEAT_OPN(CACHE, cache, true),

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-09-24 14:36    [W:0.830 / U:25.892 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site