lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Sep]   [2]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH AUTOSEL 4.18 073/131] x86/kexec: Allocate 8k PGDs for PTI
Date
From: Joerg Roedel <jroedel@suse.de>

[ Upstream commit ca38dc8f2724d101038b1205122c93a1c7f38f11 ]

Fuzzing the PTI-x86-32 code with trinity showed unhandled
kernel paging request oops-messages that looked a lot like
silent data corruption.

Lot's of debugging and testing lead to the kexec-32bit code,
which is still allocating 4k PGDs when PTI is enabled. But
since it uses native_set_pud() to build the page-table, it
will unevitably call into __pti_set_user_pgtbl(), which
writes beyond the allocated 4k page.

Use PGD_ALLOCATION_ORDER to allocate PGDs in the kexec code
to fix the issue.

Signed-off-by: Joerg Roedel <jroedel@suse.de>
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Tested-by: David H. Gutteridge <dhgutteridge@sympatico.ca>
Cc: "H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
Cc: David Laight <David.Laight@aculab.com>
Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com>
Cc: Eduardo Valentin <eduval@amazon.com>
Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: aliguori@amazon.com
Cc: daniel.gruss@iaik.tugraz.at
Cc: hughd@google.com
Cc: keescook@google.com
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Waiman Long <llong@redhat.com>
Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: joro@8bytes.org
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/1532533683-5988-4-git-send-email-joro@8bytes.org
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <alexander.levin@microsoft.com>
---
arch/x86/kernel/machine_kexec_32.c | 5 +++--
1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/machine_kexec_32.c b/arch/x86/kernel/machine_kexec_32.c
index d1ab07ec8c9a..5409c2800ab5 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/machine_kexec_32.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/machine_kexec_32.c
@@ -56,7 +56,7 @@ static void load_segments(void)

static void machine_kexec_free_page_tables(struct kimage *image)
{
- free_page((unsigned long)image->arch.pgd);
+ free_pages((unsigned long)image->arch.pgd, PGD_ALLOCATION_ORDER);
image->arch.pgd = NULL;
#ifdef CONFIG_X86_PAE
free_page((unsigned long)image->arch.pmd0);
@@ -72,7 +72,8 @@ static void machine_kexec_free_page_tables(struct kimage *image)

static int machine_kexec_alloc_page_tables(struct kimage *image)
{
- image->arch.pgd = (pgd_t *)get_zeroed_page(GFP_KERNEL);
+ image->arch.pgd = (pgd_t *)__get_free_pages(GFP_KERNEL | __GFP_ZERO,
+ PGD_ALLOCATION_ORDER);
#ifdef CONFIG_X86_PAE
image->arch.pmd0 = (pmd_t *)get_zeroed_page(GFP_KERNEL);
image->arch.pmd1 = (pmd_t *)get_zeroed_page(GFP_KERNEL);
--
2.17.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-09-02 15:32    [W:0.572 / U:3.356 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site