lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Sep]   [19]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[RFC 4/5] perf Documentation: Document the per PMU perf_event_paranoid interface
Date
From: Tvrtko Ursulin <tvrtko.ursulin@intel.com>

Explain behaviour of the new control knob along side the existing perf
event documentation.

Signed-off-by: Tvrtko Ursulin <tvrtko.ursulin@intel.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Madhavan Srinivasan <maddy@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Alexey Budankov <alexey.budankov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Cc: x86@kernel.org
---
.../testing/sysfs-bus-event_source-devices-events | 14 ++++++++++++++
1 file changed, 14 insertions(+)

diff --git a/Documentation/ABI/testing/sysfs-bus-event_source-devices-events b/Documentation/ABI/testing/sysfs-bus-event_source-devices-events
index 505f080d20a1..b3096ae9be6f 100644
--- a/Documentation/ABI/testing/sysfs-bus-event_source-devices-events
+++ b/Documentation/ABI/testing/sysfs-bus-event_source-devices-events
@@ -92,3 +92,17 @@ Description: Perf event scaling factors

This is provided to avoid performing floating point arithmetic
in the kernel.
+
+What: /sys/bus/event_source/devices/<pmu>/perf_event_paranoid
+Date: 2018/06/26
+Contact: Linux kernel mailing list <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
+Description: Per PMU access control file
+
+ This is the per PMU version of the perf_event_paranoid sysctl
+ which allows controlling the access control level for each
+ individual PMU.
+
+ Writes to the sysctl will propagate to all PMU providers.
+
+ For explanation of supported values please consult the sysctl
+ documentation.
--
2.17.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-09-19 14:28    [W:0.166 / U:0.832 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site