lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Sep]   [13]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.14 097/115] sched/deadline: Fix switching to -deadline
Date
4.14-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Luca Abeni <luca.abeni@santannapisa.it>

commit 295d6d5e373607729bcc8182c25afe964655714f upstream.

Fix a bug introduced in:

72f9f3fdc928 ("sched/deadline: Remove dl_new from struct sched_dl_entity")

After that commit, when switching to -deadline if the scheduling
deadline of a task is in the past then switched_to_dl() calls
setup_new_entity() to properly initialize the scheduling deadline
and runtime.

The problem is that the task is enqueued _before_ having its parameters
initialized by setup_new_entity(), and this can cause problems.
For example, a task with its out-of-date deadline in the past will
potentially be enqueued as the highest priority one; however, its
adjusted deadline may not be the earliest one.

This patch fixes the problem by initializing the task's parameters before
enqueuing it.

Signed-off-by: luca abeni <luca.abeni@santannapisa.it>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Reviewed-by: Daniel Bristot de Oliveira <bristot@redhat.com>
Cc: Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@arm.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Mathieu Poirier <mathieu.poirier@linaro.org>
Cc: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1504778971-13573-3-git-send-email-luca.abeni@santannapisa.it
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Sudip Mukherjee <sudipm.mukherjee@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
kernel/sched/deadline.c | 11 ++++-------
1 file changed, 4 insertions(+), 7 deletions(-)

--- a/kernel/sched/deadline.c
+++ b/kernel/sched/deadline.c
@@ -1365,6 +1365,10 @@ enqueue_dl_entity(struct sched_dl_entity
update_dl_entity(dl_se, pi_se);
} else if (flags & ENQUEUE_REPLENISH) {
replenish_dl_entity(dl_se, pi_se);
+ } else if ((flags & ENQUEUE_RESTORE) &&
+ dl_time_before(dl_se->deadline,
+ rq_clock(rq_of_dl_rq(dl_rq_of_se(dl_se))))) {
+ setup_new_dl_entity(dl_se);
}

__enqueue_dl_entity(dl_se);
@@ -2256,13 +2260,6 @@ static void switched_to_dl(struct rq *rq

return;
}
- /*
- * If p is boosted we already updated its params in
- * rt_mutex_setprio()->enqueue_task(..., ENQUEUE_REPLENISH),
- * p's deadline being now already after rq_clock(rq).
- */
- if (dl_time_before(p->dl.deadline, rq_clock(rq)))
- setup_new_dl_entity(&p->dl);

if (rq->curr != p) {
#ifdef CONFIG_SMP

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-09-13 15:50    [W:0.309 / U:9.984 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site