lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Sep]   [12]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
Date
SubjectRe: [PATCH stable] tick/nohz: Prevent bogus softirq pending warning
Hi Thomas,

On Thu, Aug 30, 2018 at 5:06 PM Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> wrote:
> Commit 0a0e0829f990 ("nohz: Fix missing tick reprogram when interrupting an
> inline softirq") got backported to stable trees and now causes the NOHZ
> softirq pending warning to trigger. It's not an upstream issue as the NOHZ
> update logic has been changed there.
>
> The problem is when a softirq disabled section gets interrupted and on
> return from interrupt the tick/nohz state is evaluated, which then can
> observe pending soft interrupts. These soft interrupts are legitimately
> pending because they cannot be processed as long as soft interrupts are
> disabled and the interrupted code will correctly process them when soft
> interrupts are reenabled.
>
> Add a check for softirqs disabled to the pending check to prevent the
> warning.
>
> Reported-by: Grygorii Strashko <grygorii.strashko@ti.com>
> Reported-by: John Crispin <john@phrozen.org>
> Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> Tested-by: Grygorii Strashko <grygorii.strashko@ti.com>
> Tested-by: John Crispin <john@phrozen.org>
> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@kernel.org>
> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
> Cc: Anna-Maria Gleixner <anna-maria@linutronix.de>
> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
> Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org

Fixes: 2d898915ccf4838c ("nohz: Fix missing tick reprogram when
interrupting an inline softirq")

Issue in v4.14.x bisected to the above commit, and fixed by your patch.

Tested-by: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@glider.be>

Gr{oetje,eeting}s,

Geert

--
Geert Uytterhoeven -- There's lots of Linux beyond ia32 -- geert@linux-m68k.org

In personal conversations with technical people, I call myself a hacker. But
when I'm talking to journalists I just say "programmer" or something like that.
-- Linus Torvalds

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-09-12 15:57    [W:0.052 / U:15.492 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site